Health Sciences: Research Literature Databases

This guide provides resources, services, and tools of interest to VT researchers investigating health topics and initiatives, including across disciplines and VT Beyond Boundaries' areas: 'Integrated Health and Wellness,' and 'The Adaptive Brain.'

Recommended Databases

Google Scholar
Google's search engine for scholarly research: the ease of Google searching combined with the quality resources you find in library databases. It indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles, books, conference proceedings, theses, online repositories, patents, legal cases, and more. Google Scholar is particularly good when starting research and canvassing the literature or as a final search on a topic.
Scopus
Scopus indexes citations of journal articles, conference papers, and books in the sciences, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches. You can compare authors, institutions, and journals using various metrics. 1800s-present
Web of Science from Clarivate Analytics
The three Web of Science databases index citations from journal articles and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches, analyze trends and patterns, and create visual representations of citation relationships. 1900-present

PubMed from NLM
Indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

A mobile version is available.
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with Full Text from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals in nursing and allied health. It offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Searchable cited references for some journals are included. Full-text material (in PDF and HTML) includes journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. 1981-present.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from academic journals. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Full text is available as PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1952-present.
TRIP Pro (Turning Research Into Practice)
TRIP Pro allows clinicians to search symptoms and other details to find research- and evidence-based medical articles, images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses, and news. Create a personal profile to save searches, receive monthly email updates for those searches, and set links to full text.

APA PsycINFO from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO indexes citations, abstracts, cited references, and some full text from articles, books, dissertations, and reviews on all aspects of psychology. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources, age group, classification code, methodology, and population group. 1840-present.

PubAg from the USDA
PubAg indexes citations and full-text of agricultural scientific literature. 1997-present.
CAB Abstracts from CABI
CAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.

CAB Abstracts from CABI
CAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.
PubMed from NLM
Indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

A mobile version is available.
Web of Science from Clarivate Analytics
The three Web of Science databases index citations from journal articles and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches, analyze trends and patterns, and create visual representations of citation relationships. 1900-present

Looking for full text?

Remember to look for the Get VText icon:

If that doesn't work, don't hesitate to contact your librarian for help accessing the full text of an article.

Librarians for Health Research

Health Sciences Librarians

Kiri DeBose, Director, Health Sciences Libraries -- health specialization: Head, Veterinary Medicine (VetMed) Library, and has administrative oversight of the VTCSOM Library & Learning Commons and the Fralin Biomedical Research Institute and Health Sciences & Technology Library. Also serves as the liaison to Animal Sciences; primary subject expertise in veterinary medicine, and animal sciences, secondary in environment and human medicine
Tim Mey, Head, Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine (VTCSOM) Library -- Liaison to School of Medicine
Roberto Silva, Head, Fralin Biomedical Research Institute and Health Sciences & Technology (FBRI HS&T) Library, Liaison to Translational Biology, Medicine & Health
Ginny Pannabecker, Assistant Dean and Director of Research, Collaboration and Engagement -- specialization: health sciences and life sciences expertise

Collaborative Librarians w/Health Sciences areas

Anne Brown, Science Informatics Consultant & Health Analytics Coordinator
Jackson Hoch, Evidence Synthesis Resident Librarian -- health specialization: Liaison to Human Nutrition Foods & Exercise
Inga Haugen, Agriculture, Life Sciences, and Scholarly Communication Librarian -- health specialization: plants, soils, Extension, ag econ, ag tech, entomology, food science, and biological systems engineering.
Amanda MacDonald, Undergraduate Research Services Librarian -- health specialization: Human Development
Rachel Miles, Research Impact Librarian -- health specialization: Neuroscience, Psychology

Whole Health and One Health are transdisciplinary and multi-disciplinary endeavors. Identify and Contact additional VT Librarians who specialize in and support researchers in delving into areas such as politics and policy, natural resources and the environment, social sciences, the arts, and more.

Last Updated: Nov 19, 2024 2:50 PM
Print Page

Subjects: Health and medicine