Skip to main content

Vet Med Library Information: Resources

This page and corresponding tabs provide information about the Veterinary Medicine Library's resources, policies, services, etc. at Virginia Tech

Outside view of the library within the main Vet Med complex

Entrance to Vet Med Library

Entrance to the Vet Med Library through the Waterfall Room

Some of our anatomy

Radius & Ulna

3D print (supports removed)

One of our friends enjoying his 3D printed skull!

Circulation desk

Seating area

Display area

Finding Information

Database searching

  • Search for the name of a specific database or broad subject area you wish to search.
    • The terms you enter in the search on this page will retrieve results if they are found in the title and descriptions of the database, not within the content of the database itself.
    • Most of the content found within the databases is restricted to Virginia Tech affiliates.
  • The Veterinary Medicine subject guide provides a starting point to the databases that cover publications related to veterinary and biomedical sciences.
     

Journal searching

  • If you are looking for a specific journal, this is the quickest way to determine what the library has access to (both in print and online).  If you have the full citation, you can use the "full text finder" option. 
    • See below for additional information on how to access materials in print and electronic format.
  • Search BrowZine Web directly for a journal title to browse table of contents and locate items of interest. 
    • Find more information on BrowZine here  (includes information on using the an app as well as through a web browser).
       

Discovery Search

  • Sometimes referred to as the "Library's Google" this index searches the full text for your terms across multiple vendors at the same time to find a variety of information sources about your topic. It is also helpful to use if you are looking for a specific article title (put the title in quotation marks) and be aware that this will also retrieve items that have cited the article you are searching for.  You can also use the "advanced search" to create a more focused set of results.
  • Looking for items in print?  Use the "physical collection" limitation option on the left hand side of the search results screen (this option includes DVDs and other physical types of materials in the collection).


Library Catalog

  • Need to find if an item is available in print?  Search the library's catalog directly (or limit to "physical collection" in the Discovery Search)
  • Check your Library Account to see what you have currently checked out, renew items, verify due dates, and note any fines listed. 
     

Course Reserves

  • Use the above link to search for materials listed on course reserve.  Note, these have limited checkout periods ranging from 2 to 24 hours.  
  • Some course texts are available online.  The ones listed on the Online Reserve Textbooks allow PDF downloads. 

Accessing Online Resources

 

  • If the database does not provide immediate full text access to a resource you found, look for the "Get VText" icon.  Click the icon to automatically search the library's holdings to locate a copy.
     

Off campus access

To access the library's resources from off campus, there are three primary options available:

  1. Start at the library's home page. Many resources require authentication to confirm you are affiliated with an institution that has paid the subscription fees for access.  By getting to the information source through the library's website, you will be prompted to sign in using your PID/password and 2-factor authentication. 
  2. Install the LibX browser extension (only available for Firefox or Chrome) so you can reload any page you are currently viewing through the library's off campus sign in service.
  3. If you are using Google Scholar, set up your "library links" to include Virginia Tech
    • ​​If you need help, contact us at 540-231-6610 for assistance.



Accessing Print Resources

  • Except for materials on course reserve, the library book shelves ("stacks") are open for patrons to browse. Books and bound journals taken out of the library must be checked out at the front desk by presenting your Hokie Passport or library borrowing card.
  • Length of time for regular circulating materials are checked out based on your affiliation (see "borrowing privileges"), while special categories of materials such as unbound issues of journals, audio-visual programs, etc. are checked out by filling out a Special Permission charge-slip for each item. See "special materials" for more information.
     


Other Access Options

Materials owned by the University Libraries, but not housed in the Vet Med Library:
  • All library users can request materials to be delivered to the Vet Med Library once you select the "place hold" option within the library's catalog ( note, you will need to login to your library account to place a hold):
    1. Pick up material at the Vet Med Library
      • Make sure the pickup location is set to "Veterinary Medicine Library" when you select the material you want sent over.
    2. Pick up material at another location: 
      • You can also change the pickup location when you place the hold. More information under "Delivery of Materials".
    3. FACULTY/STAFF ONLY: You can have materials delivered directly to your office through campus mail by selecting "Faculty/Staff Campus Delivery" in the dropdown menu when you select "place hold" option within the library's catalog
  • Just need an article or book chapter? Use Interlibrary Loan for desktop delivery of book chapters and articles from the University Libraries collections. The item will be scanned and sent to you in an electronic format to your ILLiad account
Materials not owned by the University Libraries
  • If we do not own the material you need (book, article, multimedia, etc.), you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. You can also set up your ILLiad account to have any physical items delivered to the Vet Med Library for pick-up (under "Change account information" make sure that the "Delivery Location" is set to Vet Med Library). 

Inclement Weather

Due to inclement weather, Vet Med Library will be closed Sunday, December 9th.  The Library will reopen at 1pm on Monday.

Extended Exam Hours

(12/6-12/13)

Saturday 1:00 pm-6:00 pm
Sunday 11:00 am-11:00 pm
Monday 7:30 am-11:00 pm
Tuesday 7:30 am-11:00 pm
Wednesday 7:30 am-11:00 pm
Thursday 7:30 am-11:00 pm
Friday 7:30 am-5:00 pm

 

Vet Med Library Hours

Monday 7:30 am-9:00 pm
Tuesday 7:30 am-9:00 pm
Wednesday 7:30 am-9:00 pm
Thursday 7:30 am-9:00 pm
Friday 7:30 am-5:00 pm
Saturday 1:00 pm-6:00 pm
Sunday 11:00 am-9:00 pm

Front Desk Phone: 540-231-6610

Email: VetMedLib-g@vt.edu

Head, Veterinary Medicine Library and Liaison to Animal Sciences

Kiri  DeBose's picture
Kiri DeBose
Contact:
Vet Med Library
245 Duck Pond Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061
540-231-0495

Tools to help with research

Alerting services

There are several services that will alert you to new articles or that deliver the table of contents of journals directly to your email or RSS reader.
 

Citation managers

There are several different citation (aka bibliographic) managers available.  This guide will help you think about the features that are most applicable, so you can choose a manager that will best fit your needs. The library provides training and support for the following citation managers: