Vet Med Library Information: New Book List
This page and corresponding tabs provide information about the Veterinary Medicine Library's resources, policies, services, etc. at Virginia Tech
New Book List
Online Books
Veterinary Ophthalmic Surgery , 2nd ed. by Call Number: Online OnlyISBN: 9780702082207Publication Date: 2022
Potbellied Pig Veterinary Medicine by Call Number: SF 393 .P74 M69 2023 Vet MedISBN: 9780323763608Publication Date: 2023
High Volume Spay and Neuter: A Safe and Time Efficient Approach by Call Number: Online OnlyISBN: 9780323695596Publication Date: 2022
Animal Hospice and Palliative Medicine for the House Call Veterinarian by Call Number: Online OnlyISBN: 9780323567992Publication Date: 2022
Allergies and Hypersensitivity Disease in Animals by Call Number: Online OnlyISBN: 9780323763943Publication Date: 2022
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult by Call Number: Online OnlyISBN: 9781119513155Publication Date: 2021
Manual of Exotic Pet Practice Veterinary Consult Version to Be Sold Via E Commerce Site by Call Number: SF 981 .M58 2009 Vet MedISBN: 9781416069225Publication Date: 2008
Diagnostic imaging of exotic pets : birds, small mammals, reptiles by Call Number: SF 757.8 .D43 2011 Vet Med FolioISBN: 9783842682528Publication Date: 2011
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult: Reptile and Amphibian by Call Number: Online OnlyISBN: 9781119233862Publication Date: 2021
Canine and Feline Cytopathology by Call Number: Online OnlyISBN: 9780323683685Publication Date: 2022
Atlas of Equine Ultrasonography by
ATLAS OF EQUINE ULTRASONOGRAPHY A THOROUGH EXPANSION TO THE FIRST ATLAS OF ULTRASONOGRAPHY IN THE HORSE, WITH NEW AND SIGNIFICANTLY IMPROVED IMAGES Ultrasonography is a vital diagnostic tool that can be applied in numerous functions in a veterinary practice. In conjunction with relevant clinical information--patient history and physical examination findings, for example--it can act as an important aid in the veterinarian's decision-making process. Many vets in equine practice rely upon ultrasonography as a mainstay of equine diagnostic imaging on a wide range of structures and body systems. Ultrasonography is a useful procedure that is non-invasive and acts in complement to radiography to successfully diagnose the animal's condition. This book's aim is to encourage the clinician to rely further on the use of ultrasonography in their practice. The second edition of Atlas of Equine Ultrasonography provides an updated and expanded revision of the first atlas of ultrasonography in the horse. The first edition of this important resource was the first pictorially-based book to cover ultrasonography in the horse, and remains the only book currently available on the subject. The current version offers 450 additional images with greater clarity and precision in the images throughout and demonstrates how to obtain images in each body region while offering clinical ultrasonograms that show pathology. Atlas of Equine Ultrasonography readers will also find: High-quality clinical ultrasonograms for important musculoskeletal, reproductive, and medical conditions in the horse More than 1,500 images, with accompanying concise text describing the images A companion website that provides video clips showing dynamic ultrasound exams Atlas of Equine Ultrasonography is an invaluable reference to any veterinarian evaluating ultrasonograms in equine patients. As a result, this book will be of particular interest to equine specialists, veterinary radiologists, equine practitioners, and veterinary students.
Call Number: Online OnlyISBN: 9781119514671Publication Date: 2022-08-05
Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics by
For decades, Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics has served as the ultimate resource for clinicians integrating genetics into medical practice. With detailed coverage in contributions from over 250 of the world's most trusted authorities in medical genetics and a series of 11 volumes available for individual sale, the Seventh Edition of this classic reference includes the latest information on seminal topics such as prenatal diagnosis, genome and exome sequencing, public health genetics, genetic counseling, and management and treatment strategies to complete its coverage of this growing field for medical students, residents, physicians, and researchers involved in the care of patients with genetic conditions. This comprehensive yet practical resource emphasizes theory and research fundamentals related to applications of medical genetics across the full spectrum of inherited disorders and applications to medicine more broadly. This volume, Foundations, summarizes basic theories, concepts, research areas, and the history of medical genetics, providing a contextual framework for integrating genetics into medical practice. In this new edition, clinically oriented information is supported by full-color images and expanded sections on the foundations of genetic analytics, next generation sequencing, and therapeutics. With regular advances in genomic technologies propelling precision medicine into the clinic, Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics: Seventh Edition bridges the gap between high-level molecular genetics and practical application and serves as an invaluable clinical tool for the health professionals and researchers. Introduces genetic researchers, students, and health professionals to basic theories, concepts, research areas, and the history of medical genetics, offering a contextual framework for integrating genetics into medical practice Completely revised and up-to-date, this new edition highlights traditional approaches and new developments in the field of medical genetics, including cancer genetics, genomic technologies, genome and exome sequencing, prenatal diagnosis, public health genetics, genetic counseling, and single-cell analysis for diagnosis Includes color images supporting identification, concept illustration, and method processing Features contributions by leading international researchers and practitioners of medical genetics
Call Number: Online OnlyISBN: 9780128126851Publication Date: 2018
Essentials of Public Health Biology by
Essentials of Public Health Biology explores the biologic mechanisms of diseases in both developed and developing countries. A detailed examination of the reciprocal relationships of genetic, environmental, and behavioral determinants of health and disease prepares students to analyze, discuss, and communicate biologic principles of disease.
Call Number: Online OnlyISBN: 9781284077971Publication Date: 2016
Equine Dentistry and Maxillofacial Surgery by Call Number: Online OnlyISBN: 9781527579477Publication Date: 2022
Print Books
Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook by
Plumb's(tm) VETERINARY DRUG HANDBOOK Find drug dosages and other critical information for prescribing drugs to animals quickly and efficiently in this fully updated new edition of this must-have veterinary resource The Tenth Edition of Plumb's® Veterinary Drug Handbook updates the most comprehensive, detailed, and trusted source of drug information relevant to veterinary medicine. Covering dosages, drug interactions, adverse effects, and contraindications, among other key drug details, this bestselling book is a must for practicing veterinarians and anyone requiring reliable information on the use of drugs in animals. Designed for ease of use, the book surveys an exhaustive list of drugs with applications for a wide variety of species, including dogs, cats, birds, small mammals, and farm animals. This edition includes updates to all 738 drug monographs and adds 30 new monographs, including 9 new insulin monographs, to its exhaustive coverage of drugs used in the care of animals. This new edition: Provides an extensively reviewed and updated version of the must-have veterinary drug reference Includes 30 new drug monographs, including 9 new insulin monographs Updates all 738 drug monographs, with robust citing of new information Covers a wide variety of species, including dogs, cats, birds, small mammals, and farm animals Presents detailed dosing information for an exhaustive list of drugs used in animals Plumb's® exhaustive coverage of drugs relevant to the veterinary field makes this book an essential reference for veterinarians, veterinary technicians, veterinary pharmacologists, pharmacists with veterinary patients, and libraries that serve these groups.
Call Number: SF 917 .P58 2023 Vet MedISBN: 9781394172207Publication Date: 2023
Principles of Virology, Multi-Volume by Call Number: QR 360 .P697 2020 Vet MedISBN: 9781683670322Publication Date: 2020
Essential facts of physical medicine, rehabilitation and sports medicine in companion animalsCall Number: SF 925 .E78 2019 Vet MedISBN: 9783938274309Publication Date: 2019
Sea Turtle Health and Rehabilitation by Call Number: SF 459 .T8 S43 Vet MedISBN: 9781604270990Publication Date: 2017
NAVLE Secrets Study Guide by Call Number: SF 759 .N38 2022 Vet MedISBN: 9781610721943Publication Date: 2015
NAVLE Flashcard Study SystemCall Number: SF 600 .N38 2022 Vet MedISBN: 1610721950Publication Date: 2022
National Veterinary Boards (NBE) (NVB) (1 Vol. ) by Call Number: SF 759 .T452 2018 Vet MedISBN: 9781731850508Publication Date: 2019
Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology by Call Number: RM 300 .B74 2023 Vet MedISBN: 9780323758987Publication Date: 2022
McCurnin's Clinical Textbook for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses by Call Number: SF 745 .C625 2022 Vet MedISBN: 9780323722001Publication Date: 2021
Infectious Diseases and Pathology of Reptiles by Call Number: SF 997.5.R4 I54 2021 Vet MedISBN: 9781498771481Publication Date: 2020
Planning, Implementing and Evaluating Health Promotion Programs by Call Number: RA 427.8 .M39 2023 Vet MedISBN: 9781284228649Publication Date: 2022
Cooperative Care: Seven Steps to Stress-Free Husbandry by Call Number: SF 409 .J6647 2018 Vet MedISBN: 9780578423135Publication Date: 2018
Dog, Please Say Something by
Relationship and trust. A dog is a dog. At this point I would like to start with what most people are not prepared to accept: We are dealing with a dog and not with the replacement of a partner, family member or even stuffed animal. Unfortunately, I often find that a dog is bought for a child, but this child is understandably unable to cope with the upcoming responsibility. Problems are thus inevitable. If we are willing to deal with the origin of the dog to start with in the first step, we will approach the dog with a corresponding appreciation and more respect, which we should also show the dog. The most important thing we should be willing to accept is the fact that we are dealing with an animal. An animal capable of self-acting and thinking, which is intelligent, has its own character and differs from others, not only in species or breed. At the same time, we should have the willingness to accept that there are many deep-rooted dispositions and that the innate social structure may not be underestimated. But whether in a pack or a social community (group), they are all looking for guidance and therefore for someone who is not only able to provide food, but at the same time can protect their social structure and lead them competently through life. The moment we become too fixated on loving, cuddling, overwhelming, or even humanizing our dog, this can cause problems.
Call Number: SF 433 .K64 2018 Vet MedISBN: 9783748223467Publication Date: 2019
Potbellied Pig Veterinary Medicine by
Provide preventive care and evidence-based treatment for potbellied pigs! Covering a subject that gets little or no attention in other veterinary references, Potbellied Pig Veterinary Medicine is today's definitive guide to all aspects of care for these unique animals. Topics include everything from the physical examination to handling and restraint, common illnesses, diagnosis and treatment, vaccination protocols, behavior, husbandry, sedation, surgery, and much more. Written by Dr. Kristie Mozzachio, a potbellied pig specialist and toxicologic pathologist, this clinical reference is a must-have for every veterinary practice. Comprehensive coverage addresses the essential topics of potbellied pig veterinary care, helping you properly care for these animals within a veterinary practice. Coverage of key aspects of potbellied pig care includes physical examinations, diseases, behavior, husbandry, handling/restraint, surgery, and much more. More than 150 clinical photos show a wide variety of potbellied pigs and treatment scenarios. Enhanced eBook is included with the purchase of a new print copy of the book, providing online access to a fully searchable version of the text and making its content available on various devices. Single-source review provides an all-in-one reference on the care of potbellied pigs. Expert author Kristie Mozzachio has worked with potbellied pigs for more than 25 years, including a mobile veterinary service that specializes in potbellied pigs, and consults both nationally and internationally.
Call Number: SF 393.P74 M69 2023 Vet MedISBN: 9780323763592Publication Date: 2022
Accessing the Healing Power of the Vagus Nerve by
The best-selling book on the topic--now in 15 languages. This practical guide to understanding the cranial nerves as the key to our psychological and physical well-being builds on Stephen Porges's Polyvagal Theory--one of the most important recent developments in human neurobiology. Drawing on more than thirty years of experience as a craniosacral therapist and Rolfer, Stanley Rosenberg explores the crucial role that the vagus nerve plays in determining our psychological and emotional states and explains that a myriad of common psychological and physical symptoms--from anxiety and depression to migraines and back pain--indicates a lack of proper functioning in the vagus nerve. Through a series of easy self-help exercises, the book illustrates the simple ways we can regulate the vagus nerve in order to initiate deep relaxation, improve sleep, and recover from injury and trauma. Additionally, by exploring the link between a well-regulated vagus nerve and social functioning, Rosenberg's findings and methods offer new hope that by improving social behavior it is possible to alleviate some of the symptoms at the core of many cases of autism spectrum disorders. Useful for psychotherapists, doctors, bodyworkers, and caregivers, as well as anyone who experiences the symptoms of chronic stress and depression, this book shows how we can optimize autonomic functioning in ourselves and others, and bring the body into the state of safety that activates its innate capacity to heal.
Call Number: RC 537 .R63844 2017 Vet MedISBN: 9781623170240Publication Date: 2017
