Health Sciences: Getting Started
Health Sciences Libraries at Virginia Tech
Virginia Tech Carilion School Of Medicine Library (2 Riverside Roanoke),
Fralin Biomedical Research Institute Health Sciences and Technology Library (4 Riverside Roanoke),
Veterinary Medicine Library (245 Duck Pond Rd. Blacksburg)
Get Started with Topic Overview Resources, such as PubMed Health (clinical effectiveness), MedlinePlus, and more.
VT Libraries has many guides related to Health Sciences. Search all Subject Guides, or try out one of these:
Genetics, bioinformatics, and computational biology
Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise
Population Health Sciences
Topic Overview Resources
- Medline PlusProduced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, Medline Plus brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. It offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. Learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
- PubMed from NLMIndexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.
- Consumer Health Complete from EBSCOhostConsumer Health Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from many different source types: evidence-based reports, reference works including medical dictionaries and encyclopedias, fact sheets and pamphlets, news articles, drug information, and multimedia files. You can search by disease, condition, injury, or procedure.
- Gale EbooksGale Ebooks is a collection of searchable ebook reference works. You can search within a particular work or across the entire collection. Individual articles from these sources are presented in HTML and PDF. Illustrations, photos, maps, and multimedia content is often included.
Top Library Resources & Services
Make the most of library resources & services for your research!
Don't be afraid to ask for help. Simply contact your librarian directly! See health liaison librarian information on this guide, or use the email, chat, or in-person reference desk hours for our Ask a Librarian service!
Use Discovery Search to conduct a Google-like search of most of our library resources. While it's not a disciplinary database, like the ones that I recommend to you on this guide, it can help you gain a broad overview of a particular research topic or question.
When trying to access articles and other resources, look for the Get VText box:
Can't find full text or a print copy? Use the VT Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) Service - for journal articles, book chapters (even if we own a copy), books, and more that VT does not own or subscribe to, don't pay to access research sources you need - use Illiad to request materials for free.
What Is Discovery Search?
Discovery Search includes records for most of the library’s resources: our physical collections, our journal and ebook subscriptions, streaming videos, reports, government publications, and much more. You can use limiters to narrow your search results by the format, date of publication, peer-reviewed, and availability online.
Librarians for Health Research
Health Sciences Library Locations Librarians
Kiri DeBose, Associate Director, Health Sciences Libraries -- health specialization: heads the Veterinary Medicine Library, and the Fralin Biomedical Research Institute and Health Sciences & Technology Library liaison to Animal Sciences; expertise in veterinary medicine, and animal sciences
Amanda MacDonald, Interim Head, Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine (VTCSOM) Library
Roberto Silva, Studio Manager, Fralin Biomedical Research Institute and Health Sciences & Technology Library
Ginny Pannabecker, Asst Dean and Director of Research, Collaboration and Engagement -- specialization: health sciences and life sciences expertise
Anne Brown, Science Informatics Consultant & Health Analytics Coordinator
Inga Haugen, Agriculture, Life Sciences, and Scholarly Communication Librarian -- health specialization: plants, soils, Extension, ag econ, ag tech, entomology, food science, and biological systems engineering.
Amanda MacDonald, Undergraduate Research Services Librarian -- health specialization: Human Development, Translational Biology Medicine and Health; Interim liaison to Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise
Rachel Miles, Research Impact Librarian -- health specialization: Neuroscience, Psychology