NEUR 4044: Recommended Databases

Research resources and guidance for topics and assignments in NEUR 4044 - senior seminar - stress and the brain

Looking for full text?

Remember to look for the Get VText icon:

If that doesn't work, don't hesitate to contact your librarian for help accessing the full text of an article.

Peer review

Looking for sources where submissions were peer reviewed before publication?

Check a journal title in Ulrichs Web to see if its 'referred' (peer-reviewed).

Check on a journal website to find out about publication and editorial practices such as whether or not they include peer-review in the process.

Investigating a Research Database - Questions to Ask

PubMed Tip

Setting PubMed Up for Maximum Full Text Options
Use these instructions to set up your NCBI Preferences for PubMed's Outside Tool - to ensure you have a 'GetVText' option for every PubMed result.
Setting PubMed Up for Maximum Full Text Options
Use these instructions to set up your NCBI Preferences for PubMed's Outside Tool - to ensure you have a 'GetVText' option for every PubMed result.

Recommended Databases

At University Libraries, we have nearly 1,000 different scholarly databases that you can use. For your research in Neuroscience, I recommend the following databases. Still not sure about which database(s) are best for your research? Try the Neuroscience subject guide, the Biological Sciences subject guide, or browse other s ubject guides.

Below find suggestions for:

Research literature databases
Dataset and statistical information sources

Web of Science
(1975 - ) This database includes citation databases for journal publications in science, social science, and arts and humanities

APA PsycINFO from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO indexes citations, abstracts, cited references, and some full text from articles, books, dissertations, and reviews on all aspects of psychology. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources, age group, classification code, methodology, and population group. 1840-present.
PubMed from NLM
Indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

A mobile version is available.
Biological Abstracts from Clarivate Analytics
Biological Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from life science journals and meeting reports. 1926-present.
Biosis Citation Index from Clarivate Anaytics
Biosis indexes journal articles, conference papers, books and book chapters, and patents on all areas of life sciences including molecular and cell biography, pharmacology, endocrinology, genetics, neurosciences, and ecology. You can perform cited reference searches. 1926-present.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from academic journals. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Full text is available as PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1952-present.

PubMed Tip: Follow these steps to get set up for maximum full text options

Google Scholar
Google's search engine for scholarly research: the ease of Google searching combined with the quality resources you find in library databases. It indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles, books, conference proceedings, theses, online repositories, patents, legal cases, and more. Google Scholar is particularly good when starting research and canvassing the literature or as a final search on a topic.

Statistics and Datasets

Locate statistics and datasets related to biological, biomedical, and related topics in these resources - contact Ginny if you'd like assistance using these resources, or if you'd like additional suggestions for locating datasets or statistics.

This page describes Nature Publishing Group's recommended data repositories - a list that they update quarterly and make available with a CC BY (attribution) license for reuse.

re3data.org

Registry of Research Data Repositories - Search or browse for a repository in your subject of interest. For example, browse by subject to view repositories for data repositories with datasets related to "Neurosciences."

ICPSR: InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based organization providing access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. The archive of data sets includes a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law.

DataMed

DataMed is a prototype biomedical data search engine. Its goal is to discover datasets across data repositories or data aggregators. In the future it will allow searching outside these boundaries. DataMed supports the NIH-endorsed FAIR principles of Findability, Accessibility, Interoperability and Reusability of datasets with current functionality assisting in finding datasets and providing access information about them

Health Data Tools and Statistics

From Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce, a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries. Links to sources for: Health Data News, County and Local Health Data, State Health Data, Individual State Data, National Health Data, Global Health Data, Statistical Reports, Demographic Data, Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Training and Education, Health Information Technology and Standards, and Tools for Data Collection and Planning

Last Updated: Oct 27, 2023 1:53 PM
Print Page