- University Libraries
- Research Guides
- Course Guides
- BIOL 3764 - Careers in Microbiology
- Recommended Databases
BIOL 3764 - Careers in Microbiology: Recommended Databases
Choosing a Topic
You may already have a microbe and process in mind, but if not, here are a couple places to try out for microbiology news to find out about microbes of interest: The Scientist Daily News Articles - Microbiology, Science News Daily - Microbiology, or search for: microbe in Google News or other news sources. One example to use today in your searches is Rhodococcus fascians, a plant pathogen affecting pistachio trees, as described in this news story.
Looking for full text?
Remember to look for the Get VText icon:
If that doesn't work, try to request the resource through Interlibrary Loan - you can make an account here. And don't hesitate to contact your librarian for help accessing the full text of an article.
Reference / Overview Sources
All NCBI & PubMed Tip
- Setting PubMed Up for Maximum Full Text OptionsUse these instructions to set up your NCBI Preferences for PubMed's Outside Tool - to ensure you have a 'GetVText' option for every PubMed result.
- Setting PubMed Up for Maximum Full Text OptionsUse these instructions to set up your NCBI Preferences for PubMed's Outside Tool - to ensure you have a 'GetVText' option for every PubMed result.
Recommended Databases
At University Libraries, we have nearly 1,000 different scholarly databases that you can use. For your research in BIOL 4764, I recommend starting with the following databases. Still not sure about which database(s) are best for your research? Try browsing a few subject guides.
See Searching Tips on the Search Strategies page for help creating a search statement.
As this topic is multidisciplinary, the recommended databases below are grouped as:
General / Science, Biology / Microbiology, Biomedical
- Google ScholarGoogle's search engine for scholarly research: the ease of Google searching combined with the quality resources you find in library databases. It indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles, books, conference proceedings, theses, online repositories, patents, legal cases, and more. Google Scholar is particularly good when starting research and canvassing the literature or as a final search on a topic.
- Web of Science(1975 - ) This database includes citation databases for journal publications in science, social science, and arts and humanities
- NCBI - All DatabasesThe National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information. Includes PubMed, Gene, Protein, Bio Project, and other databases.
- PubMed/MEDLINE(1950 - ) PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 19 million citations. PubMed is available to the public and includes some links to full text articles.
- TIP: Create a My NCBI Account and Use these set up instructions for Maximum full text access to articles.
