Africana Studies: Recommended

The mission of Africana studies at Virginia Tech is to asses present cultural, and structural forces and historical conditions which have given rise to the people of African descent as well as Africans on other continents.

Africana Journals

Overview of Africana Studies

Oxford African American Studies Center
The African American Studies Center provides full-text articles from encyclopedias and other references sources, plus primary sources with commentary, maps, charts, and biographies on African and African-American history, culture, literature, education, and the arts.
African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.
The African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field.

Recommended online resources

Africa Knowledge Project
The Africa Knowledge Project indexes the full text of articles, reports, dissertations, short stories and folktales, plus audio and music files on Africa and the African diaspora. 1968-present.
The Africa Resource Knowledge Project, known as ARC Knowledge Project is an initiative by Africa Resource Center, Inc. Dedicated exclusively to the academic research on Africa and the African Diaspora, the knowledge project is a centralized virtual repository that functions both as a publishing and distribution platform. Constructed as a virtual whirlpool, the dynamic environment features manuscript submission and monitoring, progress review tracking, contextualized user-centered rich modules, and syndication.
Black Studies Center from ProQuest
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more.

It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.

Penn State's Center for Black Digital Research
The Center for Black Digital Research/#DigBlk is a public-facing research center committed to bringing the histories of early Black organizing to digital life through innovative scholarship and collaborative partnerships. The Center is home to the award-winning Colored Conventions Project, Douglass Day, and the Black Women’s Organizing Archive.
Christiansburg Institute Digital Archive
The Christiansburg Institute's Digital Archives is a public, searchable archive of digital materials related to the history of Christiansburg Industrial Institute and broader African American history in Southwest Virginia. This archive was made possible through a 2022 grant from the Council on Library and Information Resources.

Race Relations Abstracts from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Race Relations Abstracts indexes citations of abstracts of journal articles on the social science aspects of race. 1975-present
SocINDEX with Full Text from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX indexes abstracts and full text of journal articles, books, conference papers, case studies, and surveys on all aspects of sociology. Author profiles are provided. You can do cited reference searches and limit to scholarly sources. 1895-present.

T&LE Liaison Librarian; Coordinator of Int'l Outreach

Jennifer Nardine

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Newman Library, Room 3007
Liaison Areas: Academy of Interdisciplinary Studies, Communication; Modern and Classical Languages & Lit; Performing Arts; Religion & Culture; Sociology

540-231-4073

Subjects: Humanities and performing arts, Languages and literatures

Ask a Librarian

Interlibrary Loan Services

All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:

not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)

We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).

Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.