Africana Studies: Additional resources

ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers offer essential primary source content and editorial perspectives of the most distinguished African American newspapers in the U.S. Each of the ten Historical Black Newspapers provides researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information that was excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources. The content, including articles, obituaries, photos, editorials, and more, is easily accessible for scholars in the study of the history of race relations, journalism, local and national politics, education, African American studies, and many multidisciplinary subjects.

A searchable database of full-text and full-image newspaper articles published in the Baltimore Afro American from 1893 to 2010. Founded by former slave John Henry Murphy, Sr. when he merged three church publications, The Baltimore Afro-American became one of the most widely circulated African-American newspapers on the Atlantic Coast. In addition to featuring the first black female reporter (Murphy’s daughter) and female sportswriters, the paper’s contributors have included writer Langston Hughes, intellectual J. Saunders Redding, artist Romare Bearden, and sports editor Sam Lacy, whose column influenced the desegregation of professional sports.

A collection of over 2,500 poems. It provides a survey of African American poetry from the earliest published African American poems to the works of Paul Laurence Dunbar. The bibliographic basis is William French's Afro-American Poetry and Drama 1760-1975.

African Music Database provides all types of African music beginning with highlife, traditional cultural groups, popular music, hiplife, and jazz. The growing database will feature music from artists in Africa and the global diaspora. Each work is downloadable in MP3. 2006-present.

Includes full text of 3 references works: Short Story Criticism: most-studied short story writers with a historical survey of the critical response to their work; Drama Criticism: For each play or playwright: critical opinion, a biographical sketch, a chronological list of the writer's major works and more; Children's Literature Review: most popular and influential authors of the genre are assessed through criticism of their major works. Entries presented in HTML and scanned page images that can be exported in PDF.

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, supplemented by Scribner Writers and Twayne's Authors. Full text presented as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.

Music Index Online indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, book and performance reviews, obituaries, and proceedings on music, musicians, and the music industry in both classical and pop music. 1970-present with selective coverage in prior years.