Research Guides: Africana Studies: Home

VT Africana Studies and the University Library

Africana Studies, a part of the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences and the Academy for Transdisciplinary Studies, is an interdisciplinary field that teaches students to critically assess present cultural forces, structural forces, and historical conditions impacting people of African descent.

Per their webpage: "Students explore historical and contemporary African-centered perspectives in History, Political Science and Public Policy, Education, English, Psychology, Religion, Gender, and more."

This guide provides a collection of recommended resources for Africana Studies research such as databases, journals, books, articles, and so on. The recommendations are not comprehensive, but these resources are very likely to contain materials useful for your projects.

A few recommended online resources beyond Virginia Tech

Penn State's Center for Black Digital Research
The Center for Black Digital Research/#DigBlk is a public-facing research center committed to bringing the histories of early Black organizing to digital life through innovative scholarship and collaborative partnerships. The Center is home to the award-winning Colored Conventions Project, Douglass Day, and the Black Women’s Organizing Archive.
Christiansburg Institute Digital Archive
The Christiansburg Institute's Digital Archives is a public, searchable archive of digital materials related to the history of Christiansburg Industrial Institute and broader African American history in Southwest Virginia. This archive was made possible through a 2022 grant from the Council on Library and Information Resources.