Skip to main content

Resources Available to VMCVM Alumni: Open Databases & Journals
Vet Med & Public Health

This resource provides resources that are available to all Virginia Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine alumni along with additional information for options on accessing content not available freely through these sources.

Open databases with Open content

PubMed Central

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). This is a subset of PubMed, as it only includes the articles/sources that are openly available.

Open Access Journals

BioMed Central

A pioneer of open access publishing, BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles available through Springer Nature. Browse the "Explore Journals" for other subject areas of interest.

Frontiers in... 

Covering more than 600 academic disciplines, the 75+ "Frontiers in" journals are open access, peer-reviewed journals with high impacts in their disciplines. There is currently no subject category offered through their site, just an A-Z by title list. Titles include: 

Hindawi Open Access Journals

Hindawi publishes peer-reviewed, Open Access journals across many areas of science, technology, and medicine, as well as several areas of social science. There is currently no subject category offered through their site, just an A-Z by title list. Titles include: 

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

A one stop shop for Open Access Journals (journals with a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access). Journals must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included. All subject areas are covered. Uses can search by journal title or browse titles. No searching of contents of journals is provided. Journals listed in the DOAJ will also be listed in our Journal Title Database.

Digital Libraries and Other Repositories with Open Access Content

VTechWorks

VTechWorks is Virginia Tech's institutional repository. It contains born-digital and scanned publication of Virginia Tech faculty and student, plus documents like Virgnia state publications. Most are available in full text (PDF and other formats) and have no restrictions on access.

Directory of Open Access Repositories - OpenDOAR

OpenDOAR is the quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories. It enables the identification, browsing and search for repositories that are of use to academic researchers. Use this to locate additional institutional repositories that may contain an open version of a publication you are trying to access.

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture

The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture is a core electronic collection of scanned agricultural texts. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. 1620-1999.

Science.gov

Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

 

Searchable Databases (not all content is openly available)

PubAg from the USDA

PubAg covers all of the core topics of the agricultural sciences including nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural imports and exports, agricultural statistics, extramural research, and Extension education.

Publisher platforms

You can freely search most publishers platforms directly, however be aware that unless the item is available through Open Access (OA) (Look for an "unlocked" padlock, or "green" (for go) icon that indicates the material is openly available) you will be prompted to purchase access to the article/book chapter. 

For sources not immediately available through OA, you can use one of the options below or to the right side of this page to determine if there is an open version available or request through your public library.

Head, Veterinary Medicine Library and Liaison to Animal Scieces

Kiri  DeBose's picture
Kiri DeBose
Contact:
Vet Med Library
245 Duck Pond Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061
540-231-0495

A Little bit about Open Access (OA)

To learn more about Open Access (OA) check out this guide

Determining OA options

Unpaywall

A browser extension that will try to locate an open version (if one exists) of a publication. Searches OA content from over 50,000 publishers and repositories.

Other ways to access

Land Grant & Public Universities

The underlying mission of a land grant or public university is to provide research and information to the public. If you live or are near a land grant or public university, you will be able to use the public computers in that university's library (or libraries as many have multiple branches) at no charge (note, there may be a fee for printing).

Local Public Library Interlibrary Loan

If you do not reside or will be near a public or land grant university, you can also request items through your local public library's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service. Note, there is often a fee associated with this service, so be sure to ask about pricing and policies before submitting your request.