Resources Available to VMCVM Alumni: Vet Med:
Open Books & Other Resources

This resource provides resources that are available to all Virginia Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine alumni along with additional information for options on accessing content not available freely through these sources.

Open Books

Anatomy and Physiology of Animals

This book describes the structure of the animal body and the way in which it works. Animals encountered in normal veterinary practice are used as examples where possible.

Large Animal Surgery - Supplemental Notes

This textbook includes basic principles of large animal surgery and anesthesia, how to apply those principles to cases and situations, and discover ways of finding answers when you don’t remember the information, are presented with cases that aren’t “textbook” and/or things don’t go as planned.

Merck Manual - Veterinary Manual

Find information on animal health topics, written for the veterinary professional. (Free online. Does not have an open license.)

Veterinary Epidemiology

Veterinary Epidemiology / by Martin, Meek and Willeberg provides an introductory, yet comprehensive, source of information on epidemiology for veterinary students, researchers, and practitioners. There has not been a textbook that presents analytic epidemiology as a science, basic to veterinary medicine's efforts in health management (herd health) as well as in clinical medicine. [Originally published by Iowa State University Press in 1987. Rights reverted to the authors who authorized digitization by the University Libraries at Virginia Tech and release under a CC BY NC ND license with additional permission granted up front for translation and format changes.] Direct link: http://hdl.handle.net/10919/72274

Veterinary Histology

Veterinary Histology is a microscopic anatomy textbook focused on domestic species, including the dog, cat, cattle, horses, swine, and camelids. This digital textbook provides comprehensive, system-specific text as well as high-resolution, annotated images along with chapter-specific glossary of terms and learning objectives. (CC BY NC)

Open Book Collections

InTech Open Access books on Veterinary Medicine

600+ freely available online books from InTech.

40+ veterinary textbooks (University of Georgia)

The University of Georgia offers 40+ veterinary textbooks in Apple iBook format through iTunes/ iStore. Freely downloadable but not openly licensed.

Directory of Open Access Books

The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access.

National Academy Sciences

PNAS (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States)
- Note there is a 6 month embargo, then everything is freely available in this publication
National Academies Press
- 200 books published each year, online access is free, there is a cost for the print version

Open Textbook Library

The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.

Additional Open Education and Open Access Resources

Open Education: Veterinary Medicine: https://guides.lib.vt.edu/oer/vetmed

[Image from https://pixabay.com/ used under a CC0 license]

Open Online Tools

BestBETs for Vets

Supports veterinary clinicians in making evidence-based decisions. A BET is a simple review of the current best evidence available to answer very common and specific clinical questions. (c) University of Nottingham

Consultant

Provided by Cornell University, this site provides a "diagnostic support system that can be used to suggest possible diagnoses or causes for clinical signs and to provide a brief synopsis of the diagnosis/cause."

eClinPath, from Cornell University

An online educational resource on veterinary clinical pathology.

Visual Guides of Animal Reproduction

Originally known as The Drost Project, this site provides a compilation of reproduction images of 7 species.

Other Sources

WikiVet

WikiVet is a worldwide collaborative project to develop a comprehensive online peer reviewed veterinary knowledge database. The aim is to cover the entire undergraduate curriculum. WikiVet contains a selection of learning resources like flashcards, videos, quizzes and other types of computer based learning resources.Most but not all of the content in WikiVet requires registration. Registration is free, and ensures editing and use by people related to the veterinary profession only. (CC BY NC ND)