Resources Available to VMCVM Alumni: Public Health:
Open Books & Other Resources
Anatomy and Physiology
Provided by the OpenStax College. This book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements. The web-based version also features links to surgical videos, histology, and interactive diagrams.
Field Trials of Health Interventions: A Toolbox
Provided by the Open Textbook Library. In this book the practical issues of trial design and conduct are discussed fully and in sufficient detail for the text to be used as a “toolbox” by field investigators. The toolbox has now been extensively tested through use of the first two editions and this third edition is a comprehensive revision, incorporating the many developments that have taken place with respect to trials since 1996 and involving more than 30 contributors. Most of the chapters have been extensively revised and 7 new chapters have been added.
Public Health Ethics: Global Cases, Practice, and Context
Provided by the Open Textbook Library. Broadly speaking, public health ethics helps guide practical decisions affecting population or community health based on scientific evidence and in accordance with accepted values and standards of right and wrong. This textbook includes overviews, case studies, and discussion questions for many common public health topics.
Open Book Collections
NLM / NCBI Bookshelf
- National Library of Medicine (NLM) / National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
- To use these materials, see the Copyright information.
Directory of Open Access Books
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access.
National Academy Sciences
- PNAS (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States)
- Note there is a 6 month embargo, then everything is freely available in this publication
- National Academies Press
- 200 books published each year, online access is free, there is a cost for the print version
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.
Additional Open Education and Open Access Resources
Open Online Educational Resources
Medline Plus Videos & Cool Tools
- General health education, consumer health, and patient education resources. "Learn by watching health videos on topics such as human anatomy, surgical procedures, and health news. Test your knowledge with interactive tutorials and games. Check your health by using the calculators and quizzes."
- To re-use these materials, see the Copyright Information. Includes Interactive tutorials, Anatomy videos, Surgery videos, and more.
MIT Open Courseware: Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology open courses
- Includes a variety of topics such as: Health Information Systems to Improve Quality of Care in Resource-Poor Settings, Biomedical Signal and Image Processing, Genomics and Computational Biology, and Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging: Data Acquisition and Analysis. These courses include many types of course materials such as: video/audio lectures, lecture notes, assessments, online textbooks, interactive simulations.