VetTRAC: Library Guide

Course guide for the summer VetTRAC program.

This page includes all of the activities we'll be doing during the "Research the Right Way" section of the program. The other tabs provide additional tips about locating high quality information sources.

Activity 1: Identifying Types of Sources


[Image from https://pixabay.com/]

For this activity (page 1 of the worksheet), click on the links provided below that correspond to the source number listed in the table in the worksheet. 

Source 1: Animal welfare. 

Source 2: Animal welfare: What is it?

Source 3: Imaging technologies and basic considerations for welfare of laboratory rodents.

Source 4: : Maryland bans pigeon shoots: Animal welfare groups push to end 'incredibly cruel' tradition in Pennsylvania.

Source 5: The translation of animal welfare research into practice: The case of mixing aggression between pigs.

Based on what is presented, determine what kind of information source you are looking at, such as a journal article, book, book chapter, database entry, newspaper source, general webpage, etc. Be prepared to discuss!

Activity 2: Searching for Information


[Image from https://pixabay.com]

Part 1:

For this activity, your table will be given a topic to search. Use the topic as the keywords, search the same term(s) in each of the following indexes/databases/search engines: 

Google

Google Scholar

VetMed Resource (through CABI)

Agricola (through ProQuest)

Record your results in the table on page 2 of the worksheet and be prepared to discuss.

Part 2:

Now your table will determine a research question to focus on related to your topic.  Determine what terms/keywords you'll use and how they'll be combined with Boolean Operators to run another search in the same four indexes/databases/search engines above. Record your results in the worksheet (page 3) for each search.

Activity 3: Evaluating Information


[Image from https://pixabay.com]

For this activity, your table will be evaluating a source using the table provided on page four of the worksheet. 

Assign each team member to pick one source from a specific index/database/search engine used above, and make sure that a source is selected from each index/database/search engine to evaluate in this activity.

Compare the source evaluation with your table members.  Which source(s) was/were the most credible, useful, and timely, and which source(s) would you omit? 

Be prepared to discuss!  

Head, Veterinary Medicine Library and Liaison to Animal Scieces

Kiri  DeBose's picture
Kiri DeBose
Contact:
Vet Med Library
245 Duck Pond Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061
540-231-0495