Alumni accessible databases

This list includes licensed, open access, and freely accessible databases that provide scholarly articles, consumer publications, business reports, and government documents that Virginia Tech alumni can access.

This subject category lists recommended databases covering business and economics. Many provide full-text sources, otherwise use the citations they provide to request copies via your local library's interlibrary loan service.

Code of Federal Regulations from FDSys
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. 1996-present.
FASB Accounting Standards
The FASB Accounting Standards Codification® (FASB Codification) is the sole source of authoritative GAAP other than SEC issued rules and regulations that apply only to SEC registrants. The FASB issues an Accounting Standards Update (Update or ASU) to communicate changes to the FASB Codification, including changes to non-authoritative SEC content. ASUs are not authoritative standards.
Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) pronouncements, consist of Statements of Financial Accounting Standards ("SFAS" or simply "FAS"), Statements of Financial Accounting Concepts, Interpretations, Technical Bulletins, and Staff Positions, which together present rules and guidelines for preparing, presenting, and reporting financial statements within the United States according to generally accepted accounting principles ("GAAP") in the United States Of America.
Global Development Finance from the World Bank
Global Development Finance provides external debt and financial flows statistics for the 134 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System. 1970-present.
NAICS North American Industry Classification System Lookup
NAICS is the standard used by federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. Enter a keyword that describes your kind of business. A list of primary business activities containing that keyword and the corresponding NAICS codes will appear. Choose the one that most closely corresponds to your primary business activity, or refine your search to obtain other choices.
World Development Indicators from the World Bank
World Development Indicators provides financial data sets from international sources that can be downloaded in database and spreadsheet formats. 1960-present.
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank database for development data from officially-recognized international sources. Global Development Finance (GDF) provides external debt and financial flows statistics for countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System (DRS).