Alumni accessible databases
This list includes licensed, open access, and freely accessible databases that provide scholarly articles, consumer publications, business reports, and government documents that Virginia Tech alumni can access.
This subject category lists recommended databases covering humanities and performing arts. Many provide full-text sources, otherwise use the citations they provide to request copies via your local library's interlibrary loan service.
- Encyclopedia Virginia from the Virginia Foundation for the HumanitiesEncyclopedia Virginia is a reference work about the Commonwealth; it aggregates in a single resource information on Virginia history, business, politics, and geography, plus the state’s proud heritage in the arts, religion, culture, and folklife. As the Encyclopedia grows, it will also explore areas of science, medicine, education, and technology. The first phase of Encyclopedia Virginia focuses on topics related to Virginia literature, Civil War history, and twentieth century history.
- RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish StudiesRAMBI indexes citations to articles in various fields of Jewish studies. 1906-present.
- Smithsonian Institution Digital LibraryThe Smithsonian Library's Digital Library contains digital publications, collections and objects including online exhibitions, webcasts, digital editions, bibliographies and fact sheets, and finding aids/inventories for collections such as our trade literature collection and artist files.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a constantly updated reference work. Entries are presented as HTML
