Skip to main content

Alumni accessible databases

This list includes licensed, open access, and freely accessible databases that provide scholarly articles, consumer publications, business reports, and government documents that Virginia Tech alumni can access.

Alumni licensed databases

These databases are licensed for use by Virginia Tech alumni through the Alumni Library Portal sign in proxy.

Research starter

This list includes recommended databases in which you can begin many research topics. It includes databases catering to all levels of user, not just undergraduates. Content of these databases can include reference sources like encyclopedias or dictionaries; articles that give an overview of a topic, issue, controversy, or recent event; or that provide broad coverage to assist in narrowing or refining a research topic. After you have used these databases for background research on your topic, you can move on to more subject-specific databases.

General interest

This subject category lists recommended databases are either basic or broad in scope. They include resources that cover multiple subject areas, such as general purpose encyclopedias, large article indexing databases, or newspaper article indexing databases.

Agriculture, biological sciences, and natural resources

This subject category lists recommended databases covering the life sciences: agriculture, biology, and natural resources.

Architecture, art, and design

This subject category lists recommended databases covering architecture, art, and design.

Business and economics

This subject category lists recommended databases covering business and economics.

Engineering and physical sciences

This subject category lists recommended databases covering engineering and the physical sciences: chemistry, geosciences, mathematics, physics, and statistics.

Health and medicine

This subject category lists recommended databases covering the medical sciences, including nutrition, fitness, physiology, and psychiatry.

Humanities and performing arts

This subject category lists recommended databases covering humanities and performing arts.

Languages and literatures

This subject category lists recommended databases covering languages, linguistics, and literatures in English, foreign languages (especially languages taught by the Foreign Language department), and classics (Greek and Latin).

Social sciences and education

This subject category lists recommended databases covering social sciences and human sciences, including anthropology, communication, education, history, human development, international studies, law, military science, political science, psychology, public administration, and sociology.