Alumni accessible databases
This list includes licensed, open access, and freely accessible databases that provide scholarly articles, consumer publications, business reports, and government documents that Virginia Tech alumni can access.
Legend
Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal sign in to access.
Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction.
Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia.
Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.
Freely accessible databases
Access online databases at your local library
These databases are licensed for use by Virginia Tech alumni through the Alumni Library Portal sign in proxy.
- AM Explorer from Adam Matthew Digital
This link opens in a new window
Cross search all or selected Adam Matthew primary source databases and access millions of digitized pages from a single search. This resource provides access to over two dozen primary source databases. - Annual Reviews
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews publishes comprehensive, critical, primary-literature reviews (HTML and PDF) for 40 scientific disciplines within the biological and medical, engineering and physical, and social sciences including economics. It is a useful starting point for upper level research because it synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in each field. 1939-present. - CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher publishes single-themed, 12,000-word reports researched and written by a seasoned journalist and noted for in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports provides an overview; background and chronology; assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from opposing positions; and bibliographies. Pre-1996 are HTML; newer are PDFs. 1991-present. - Project MUSE
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text journals in HTML and PDF. - Reference Solutions
- This link opens in a new window
Reference Solutions, formerly ReferenceUSA, provides reports on business, jobs, and consumers in the US. It incorporates directory information for 14 million businesses, including private companies, nonprofit organizations, and some government offices. It also includes information on closed businesses. - SAGE Journals
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable index of full text journals from SAGE consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Every bibliographic record links to the appropriate full-text in PDF format. Journals cover topics in health sciences, social sciences, humanities, materials sciences, engineering, life and biomedical sciences. Please note: The University Libraries does not subscribe to all titles on this platform. - SAGE Knowledge - Reference
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Knowledge provides full-text books and reference works in HTML and PDF. - SAGE Research Methods Cases
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Cases provides full-text case studies in HTML and PDF about methodological concepts in practice. Each case study has learning outcomes and discussion questions to guide understanding. - SAGE Business Cases
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Business Cases provides full-text business case studies on all aspects of business and management, including marketing, operations management, small business & entrepreneurship, international business, and human resource management. 2014-present. - SAGE Research Methods Datasets
- This link opens in a new window
SRM-D provides teaching datasets to support the instruction and independent learning of quantitative and qualitative analytical methods. The datasets are taken from larger national and international data sources, cleaned and reduced in size and complexity for teaching and self-study purposes. Each is accompanied by a guide with an overview of the data and the method, instructions on applying the method, tips on presenting the analysis in your research, and a link to the full dataset. - SAGE Research Methods Online
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods indexes full-text books, reference sources, the "little green book" series (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences), the "little blue book" series (Qualitative Research Methods), journal articles, and videos. Since this platform focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used by researchers from the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit searches by research method type. 1970s-present. - SAGE Research Methods Video
- This link opens in a new window
This resource provides streaming video tutorials, interviews, case studies, and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process.
