HNFE - Internship - Nutrition & Dietetics: Recommended Databases
Research resources and services of interest to HNFE Nutrition & Dietetics interns.
Community Engagement and Research Librarian
Ginny Pannabecker
she/they
Contact:
vpannabe@vt.edu
Newman Library, Room 5092
Office Hours are Flexible:
Contact me to arrange an appointment at: vpannabe@vt.edu
Subjects: Biochemistry, Biomedical Engineering, Systems Biology
Newman Library, Room 5092
Office Hours are Flexible:
Contact me to arrange an appointment at: vpannabe@vt.edu
Subjects: Biochemistry, Biomedical Engineering, Systems Biology
540-231-7980
Website Skype Contact: Virginia.Pannabecker
Recommended Databases
At University Libraries, we have more than 500 different scholarly databases that you can use. For your research in, I recommend the following databases. Still not sure about which database(s) are best for your research? Try browsing a few subject guides, or look through the full research database list.
Recommended Databases
Databases Of Interest
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
- PubMed from NLM(1950- Present) PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine that includes more than 19 million citations. PubMed is available to the public and includes some links to full-text articles.
- CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with Full Text from EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
CINAHL indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals in nursing and allied health. It offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Searchable cited references for some journals are included. Full-text material (in PDF and HTML) includes journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. 1981-present.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from academic journals. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Full text is available as PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1952-present.
- APA PsycINFO from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO indexes citations, abstracts, cited references, and some full text from articles, books, dissertations, and reviews on all aspects of psychology. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources, age group, classification code, methodology, and population group. 1840-present.
- Google ScholarGoogle's search engine for scholarly research: the ease of Google searching combined with the quality resources you find in library databases. It indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles, books, conference proceedings, theses, online repositories, patents, legal cases, and more. Google Scholar is particularly good when starting research and canvassing the literature or as a final search on a topic.
Statistics & Datasets
Locate statistics and datasets related to nutrition, dietetics, health, and related topics in these resources - contact Ginny if you'd like assistance using these resources, or if you'd like additional suggestions for locating datasets or statistics.
Health Data Tools and Statistics
From Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce, a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries. Links to sources for: Health Data News, County and Local Health Data, State Health Data, Individual State Data, National Health Data, Global Health Data, Statistical Reports, Demographic Data, Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Training and Education, Health Information Technology and Standards, and Tools for Data Collection and Planning
ICPSR: InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based organization providing access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. The archive of data sets includes a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law.
re3data.org
Registry of Research Data Repositories - Search or browse for a repository in your subject of interest. For example, browse by subject to view repositories for data related to "Psychology."
