Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General and Background Information
Oxford English Dictionary
This is the dictionary of dictionaries. It is a historical dictionary which means it provides meanings, history, and pronunciations. Using the OED you can trace the history of a word through time and see how words and means evolved and were used via the quotations and timelines.
Gale's Literary Index
This is an index, so you will not find any full text. This index gives you titles of sources you can look for in Discovery search. You will find basic biographical information which can be great for developing your understanding of an author.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text from ESBCOhost
MLA International Bibliography indexes citations and full text of journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly web sites in disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world and includes citations to materials in many languages other than English. 1926-present.
Humanities International Complete from EBSCOhost
Humanities International Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, books and book reviews, art work and images, performances and reviews, literature and criticisms, poems and short stories, and conference proceedings. Full text is available as HTML and PDF; images are available in a variety of formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, supplemented by Scribner Writers and Twayne's Authors. Full text presented as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.
Gale Literature Criticism
Includes full text of 3 references works: Short Story Criticism: most-studied short story writers with a historical survey of the critical response to their work; Drama Criticism: For each play or playwright: critical opinion, a biographical sketch, a chronological list of the writer's major works and more; Children's Literature Review: most popular and influential authors of the genre are assessed through criticism of their major works. Entries presented in HTML and scanned page images that can be exported in PDF.
Teaching and Learning Engagement Librarian
Teaching and Learning Librarian; Coodinator, International Outreach
Schedule an Appointment
To sign up for an appointment during my regularly-scheduled office hours, please follow the link to my calendar. If none of those times work, please email me at the address above to find another time.
Interlibrary Loan Services
All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:
- not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
- owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
- owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).
Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard are sent to the mailing address listed on your account.