Library Help: English: American & British Lit
American Literature
- African-American Poetry from ProQuest
This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 2,500 poems. It provides a survey of African American poetry from the earliest published African American poems to the works of Paul Laurence Dunbar. The bibliographic basis is William French's Afro-American Poetry and Drama 1760-1975. - America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 from Readex
- This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover reproductions of 1,000+ US newspapers in PDF. Restrict searches to dates/eras, article types (news & opinion, election returns, letters, poetry/songs, legislative, prices, advertisements, matrimony & death notices), region/state, and newspaper name. Includes the digital versions of the Early American Newspapers microforms collection, African American Newspapers 1827-1998, and a collection of Virginia newspapers ranging from the Colonial era to selected 20th-century newspapers. - American Poetry from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
American Poetry contains over 40,000 full-text poems by more than 200 poets, covering the Colonial period to the early twentieth century. Any accompanying text written by the poet and forming an integral part of the poem, such as dedications, notes, arguments and epigraphs, is also generally included. - APS - American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900 from ProQuestAPS indexes over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including scholarly, special interest, and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Covers all academic disciplines including the sciences, though news and literary magazines are most prevalent. An excellent source of primary documents. Full text provided in HTML and PDF.
- African-American Women Writers of the 19th Century"An essential collection of 41 full length books representing several genres such as autobiographies, poetry, novels, compilation of slave testimonies, and memoirs. Authors range from the famous like Phillis Wheatley, Sojourner Truth, Harriett Jacobs, Elizabeth Keckley, Alice Dunbar-Nelson, and Mary Prince, to the anonymous “Old Elizabeth.”"
British Literature
- British Periodicals Collection I & II from ProQuestBritish Periodicals is a collection of digitized periodicals covering the humanities, performing arts, history, science, architecture, and especially literature. Documents are available as high-resolution images and downloadable PDFs. Browse individual journals or search across the collection. All content is indexed, including advertising. Searches can be limited to multimedia types, including maps, illustrations, comics, photos, and music scores. 1681-1939.
- EEBO: Early English Books Online from ProQuestEarly English Books Online contains scanned page images (GIF and TIFF) of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Coverages includes all subject areas with strong coverage in the humanities, performing arts, and education. Each is full-text searchable.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online from GaleECCO provides full-text books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides, directories, Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements in HTML and PDF. It delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
- English Poetry from ProQuest
- This link opens in a new window
English Poetry, Second Edition contains over 183,000 poems. Essentially comprising the complete canon of English poetry of the British Isles and the British Empire from the 8th century to the early 20th, its works are drawn from nearly 4,900 printed sources and represent more than 2,700 poets. - Shakespeare Survey Online from CambridgeShakespeare Survey Online is the electronic version of the annual yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production, which has been published since 1948. Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays; each also contains reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances. The books are illustrated with a variety of Shakespearean images and production photographs.
- Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1990The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals indexes citations of periodical articles, including the authorship of articles and a bibliography of articles written by each contributor, and using each pseudonym. Citations of evidence are provided to support attributions of authorship, along with brief biographical and vocational details. Each indexed publication is thoroughly described. Some citations link to full text from other C19 databases.
