Newspapers and current news sources

Cover-to-cover reproductions of 1,000+ US newspapers in PDF. Restrict searches to dates/eras, article types (news & opinion, election returns, letters, poetry/songs, legislative, prices, advertisements, matrimony & death notices), region/state, and newspaper name. Includes the digital versions of the Early American Newspapers microforms collection, African American Newspapers 1827-1998, and a collection of Virginia newspapers ranging from the Colonial era to selected 20th-century newspapers.

Atlanta Daily World from ProQuest includes digital reproductions, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format, including front pages, articles, editorials, photos, advertisements, wedding and engagement announcements, cartoons, birth and death announcements, reviews, and more. The Atlanta Daily World had the first Black White House correspondent and was the first Black daily newspaper in the nation in the 20th century. Coverage is from 1931-2010; updates vary.

A searchable database of full-text and full-image newspaper articles published in the Baltimore Afro American from 1893 to 2010. Founded by former slave John Henry Murphy, Sr. when he merged three church publications, The Baltimore Afro-American became one of the most widely circulated African-American newspapers on the Atlantic Coast. In addition to featuring the first black female reporter (Murphy’s daughter) and female sportswriters, the paper’s contributors have included writer Langston Hughes, intellectual J. Saunders Redding, artist Romare Bearden, and sports editor Sam Lacy, whose column influenced the desegregation of professional sports.

Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and much more.

It combines essential resources for research and teaching in Black Studies, including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.

Chicago Defender from ProQuest, an African-American newspaper founded in 1905, provides digital reproductions of full page and article images with searchable full text. The Chicago Defender was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century. With the majority of its readership outside the Chicago region, it served as the de facto national black newspaper in the U.S., and it was the most influential African-American newspaper of the 20th century. Coverage spans 1909-2010.

Ethnic NewsWatch indexes English- and Spanish-language, full-text articles from newspapers, magazine, and journals from around the U.S. and the world. News coverage is from Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, Appalachian, and multi-ethnic communities. Articles are available in HTML and PDF. 1990-present.

This leading Black newspaper of the 20th century captured the vibrancy and cultural richness of the Harlem Renaissance in the 1920s, advocated for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and fought against discriminatory employment practices and other civil rights abuses in the 1960s. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage spans 1922-2010

Under the leadership of P.B. Young, the “Dean of the Negro Press,” The Norfolk Journal and Guide became one of the best researched and written newspapers of its era, with a circulation of more than 80,000 by the 1940s. It was one of only a few black newspapers to provide on-the-scene coverage of the 1930s Scottsboro trial, and helped raise legal funds for the nine young black defendants. This Southern-based newspaper had to use a factual, unemotional tone in expressing opinions on social injustice. This approach attracted advertising from local and national white-owned businesses — such as Goodrich, Pillsbury, and Ford — that other black newspapers did not receive. This database includes digital reproductions with full-text searching spanning 1916 to 2010.

Cover-to-cover reproductions of 1,000+ US newspapers in PDF. Restrict searches to dates/eras, article types (news & opinion, election returns, letters, poetry/songs, legislative, prices, advertisements, matrimony & death notices), region/state, and newspaper name. Includes the digital versions of the Early American Newspapers microforms collection, African American Newspapers 1827-1998, and a collection of Virginia newspapers (labeled Selected Historical Newspapers).