Newspapers and current news sources

Databases listed here provide full-text, current news articles: newspapers, popular magazines, news report transcripts, and other publication. Use these databases to locate articles on current events, pop culture, biographies, financial reports, and local

Databases listed here index citations for news articles: newspapers, popular magazines, and other publications. We may have access to the full-text article from another source, either by using the Get VText button/link or manually entering the citation in the fetch item, citation linker form.

C19 - Nineteenth Century Index
C19 consolidates citations in finding aids to Anglo-American books, periodicals, and documents issued between the French Revolution and the end of World War I. Search in/across tens of millions of records compiled in several authoritative indexes to periodicals, book catalogs, and descriptions of archives and US and British government information. Many of the documents indexed in C19 are linked to the library's full-text ProQuest databases. Citations in C19 may help you search primary-source databases from other providers, locate print or microform resources in Newman Library, or make interlibrary loan requests. 1770-1919.
Newspaper Source Plus from EBSCOhost
Newspaper Source Plus indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from more than 860 newspapers. Full-text articles are available in PDF format.The database covers major newspapers and television and radio news transcripts. 1985-present.
Ethnic NewsWatch from ProQuest
Ethnic NewsWatch indexes English- and Spanish-language, full-text articles from newspapers, magazine, and journals from around the U.S. and the world. News coverage is from Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, Appalachian, and multi-ethnic communities. Articles are available in HTML and PDF. 1990-present.
Ethnic NewsWatch delivers hundreds of important ethnic press publications. The voices of the Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, and multi-ethnic communities can be heard. Titles include Kurdish Life, Asian Week, Jewish Exponent, Seminole Tribune, Appalachian Heritage, The Boston Irish Reporter, Chinese America, The Filipino Express, Hmong Times, and many more. A majority of this content is exclusive to ENW and not available in any other database.
Historical Newspapers from ProQuest
ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. As part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program, every issue of each title includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
Atlanta Constitution
Atlanta Daily World
Baltimore AfroAmerican
Chicago Defender
Chicago Tribune
Christian Science Monitor
Cleveland Call and Post
Guardian and The Observer
Los Angeles Sentinel
Los Angeles Times
Michigan Chronicle
New York Amsterdam News
New York Times
Norfolk Journal & Guide
Philadelphia Tribune
Pittsburgh Courier
Wall Street Journal
Washington Post
Newspapers.com World Collection
Newspapers.com World Collection is an extensive database that provides online access to 4,000+ historical newspapers. Dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s, Newspapers.com World Collection contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, global, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.