Newspapers and current news sources

Databases listed here provide full-text, current news articles: newspapers, popular magazines, news report transcripts, and other publication. Use these databases to locate articles on current events, pop culture, biographies, financial reports, and local

If you require a newspaper article, and we have no access to it (online, in print, or in microforms), you can request the article through interlibrary loan. To make that request, you will need a complete citation, including date and page number(s). Most local papers have no index (online or in print), making finding a citation difficult.

The most comprehensive source of Virginia newspapers is Access World News, which currently lists almost 200 publications with both current and historical access.

Try searching a news database or the newspaper's online archive for the citation. (Some newspaper allow searching their archive even when accessing the full-text article requires payment. Simply use the citation from your search results to fill in your ILL request.)

Virginia newspapers online

(Arlington) The Arlington Journal has ceased publication. It has been incorporated by the Washington Examiner
(Ashland/Hanover County) Herald Progress The Herald-Progress served the Town of Ashland and Hanover County as a weekly newspaper for over 100 years. Unfortunately, this local institution closed its doors on March 29, 2018.
(Bristol) Bristol Herald-Courier
(Charlottesville) The Daily Progress
(Clarke, Fairfax, Fauquier, Loudoun, and Rappahannock Counties) Based in Herndon, VA and headquartered in Leesburg, VA, Times Community Media (TCM) is a group of newspapers that provide local news in Northern Virginia and the Piedmont, including the Fauquier Times, The Gainsville Times, and Louden Times-Mirror.
(Culpeper) Culpeper Star-Exponent
(Danville) Danville Register & Bee
(Fairfax) Fairfax Journal has ceased publication and has been incorporated by the Washington Examiner.
(Fauquier) Fauquier Citizen was purchased by the Fauquier Times in 2006. After the acquisition, it ceased publication.
(Fredericksburg) The Free-Lance-Star
(Hampton Roads) Daily Press and Pilot Online
(Harrisonburg) Daily News-Record
(Leesburg) Loudoun Times-Mirror As of June 17, 2010, The Times-Mirror and The Independent merged. The Times-Mirror publishes on Wednesdays and The Independent publishes on Fridays.
(Lexington) The News–Gazette
(Loudoun) Loudoun Easterner ceased publication July 23, 2009. Louden Times-Mirror
(Luray) Page News and Courier
(Lynchburg) The News & Advance
(Madison) Madison County Eagle
(Manassas) Journal Messenger
(Manassas/Prince William County) Daily Journal Prince William Section
(Martinsville/Henry County) Martinsville Bulletin
(Norfolk) The Virginian-Pilot
(Norton) Coalfield Progress
(Orange) Orange County Review
(Richlands) Richlands News-Press
(Richmond) Times Dispatch
(Roanoke) Roanoke Times (current edition) and The Roanoke Times (from the Virginia Tech Scholary Communications Project searchable archive January 1992 to February 1997)
(Standardsville) Green County Record
(Staunton) Daily News Leader
(Warrenton) Fauquier Times
(Waynesboro) News Virginian
(Wise County) The Coalfield Progress
(William, Manassas, & Manassas Park) News & Messenger printed it's final edition on Sunday, December 30, 2012. The paper's website, insidenova.com, was acquired by another media group, Northern Virginia Media Services, publisher of Prince William Today, one of two weekly papers (the Prince William Times is the other) that launched in January 2013 following the closure of the News & Messenger. Prince William Today is now called InsideNoVa/Prince William and is distributed to 26,000 households a week