- University Libraries
- Research Guides
- Subject Guides
- Neuroscience
- Recommended Resources
Neuroscience: Recommended Resources
The VT Neuroscience program focuses on advances in genetic, cellular, molecular, cognitive and systems Neuroscience.
Topic Overviews
- MedlinePlus
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, Medline Plus brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues. It offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. Learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
- Annual Reviews
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews publishes comprehensive, critical, primary-literature reviews (HTML and PDF) for 40 scientific disciplines within the biological and medical, engineering and physical, and social sciences including economics. It is a useful starting point for upper level research because it synthesizes the vast amount of primary research literature and identifies the principal contributions in each field. 1939-present. - Gale EbooksGale Ebooks is a collection of searchable ebook reference works. You can search within a particular work or across the entire collection. Individual articles from these sources are presented in HTML and PDF. Illustrations, photos, maps, and multimedia content is often included.
Scholarly Research Databases
Primary Databases for Neuroscience
- PubMed from NLMIndexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.
- MEDLINE from Web of ScienceMEDLINE is an index of a specific set of citations in the PubMed database in the biomedical sciences; these items are included based on recommendations from an NIH charted advisory committee of experts. All journals indexed in MEDLINE are assigned Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) by experts in the field; in addition, all journals in MEDLINE are peer reviewed. If you search in PubMed and limit your search to MeSH terms, you are limiting your results to articles indexed in MEDLINE; therefore, a search in PubMed with only MeSH terms is the same as a search in MEDLINE.
- Google ScholarGoogle's search engine for scholarly research: the ease of Google searching combined with the quality resources you find in library databases. It indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles, books, conference proceedings, theses, online repositories, patents, legal cases, and more. Google Scholar is particularly good when starting research and canvassing the literature or as a final search on a topic.
Other Useful Databases for Neuroscience
- APA PsycINFO from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO indexes citations, abstracts, cited references, and some full text from articles, books, dissertations, and reviews on all aspects of psychology. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources, age group, classification code, methodology, and population group. 1840-present. - Web of Science from Clarivate AnalyticsThe three Web of Science databases index citations from journal articles and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches, analyze trends and patterns, and create visual representations of citation relationships. 1900-present
- Biological Abstracts from Clarivate AnalyticsBiological Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from life science journals and meeting reports. 1926-present.
- Zoological Record from Web of ScienceZoological Record indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, trade publications, magazines, books, conference proceedings and more in the biological sciences. You can find the first appearance of a species in the literature and track taxonomic and nomenclatural changes. 1864-present.
- ScopusScopus indexes citations of journal articles, conference papers, and books in the sciences, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches. You can compare authors, institutions, and journals using various metrics. 1800s-present
- Cross-search Psychology Databases on EBSCOCross search the major psychology databases: APA databases: PsycINFO, PsycBOOKS, PsycARTICLES; and Psychological and Behavioral Sciences Collections.
Neuroscience Liaison Librarian
Ask a Librarian
Eyewire: A Game to Map the Brain
- Eyewire
"Eyewire is a game to map the brain in collaboration with the Seung Lab at Princeton. Anyone can play and you need no scientific background — over 200,000 people from 145 countries already do. Together we are mapping the 3D structure of neurons; advancing our quest to understand ourselves."