Introduction to Biosystems Engineering (2021) is published jointly by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) and Virginia Tech Publishing. It is edited by Nicolas M. Holden, Mary Leigh Wolfe, Jactone A. Ogejo, and End J. Cummins of Virginia Tech and University College Dublin (Ireland) and has an international authorship. It is the first Virginia Tech publication of the Open Education Network Publishing Cooperative. The book is a 23-chapter, 570-page open textbook targeted at 1st and 2nd year university-level students with an interest in biosystems engineering but who are not yet familiar with the breadth and depth of the subject. It is designed as a coherent educational resource, also available for download as individual digital chapters. The book can be used as a localized, customizable text for introductory courses in Biosystems Engineering globally. It is written as a series of stand-alone chapters organized under six major topics: Food and Bioprocessing; Environment; Buildings and Infrastructure; Information and Communications Technology and Data; Machinery Systems; and Energy. Each chapter is organized around stated learning outcomes and describes key concepts, applications of the concepts, and worked examples. The discipline of Biosystems Engineering emerged in the 1990s from the traditional strongholds of agricultural engineering and food engineering. Biosystems engineering integrates engineering science and design with applied biological, environmental, and agricultural sciences.
Ancillaries: The Biosystems Engineering Digital Library (BEDL)— will provide more teaching and learning materials for instructors to use in the classroom.
View the Chapter-level and WebPDFs | Order a print copy | | If you are an instructor reviewing, adopting or adapting this book, or if you have comments or suggestions please complete the form at https://bit.ly/IBSE_feedback to submit feedback.
License: CC BY 4.0
IN THE NEWS
Virginia Tech Daily News (February 8, 2021) Virginia Tech Publishing partners with international association to publish engineering open textbook
Significant Statistics: An Introduction to Statistics (BETA VERSION) is intended for the one-semester college level introduction to statistics course for students who are not mathematics or engineering majors. The text was deeply adapted from content published in three other open textbooks published by OpenStax: Introductory Statistics, and OpenIntro:OpenIntro Statistics, and Introductory Statistics for the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Original content was added by John Morgan Russell. The open textbook focuses on the interpretation of statistical results, especially in real world settings, and assumes that students have an understanding of intermediate algebra. Examples of each topic are explained step-by-step throughout the text and followed by a 'Your Turn' problem that is designed as extra practice for students. Each chapter also includes end of section practice and homework sets and glossary terms.
View the online version on Pressbooks | NOTE: This is a BETA VERSION. This book is changing! It is currently under internal and departmental peer review. It is also undergoing its third round of classroom field testing.
Interested? Sign up here https://bit.ly/stat-interest to be notified of a more final / formal release of this book in summer 2021.
License: CC BY SA 4.0
Fundamentals of Business, third edition (2020) is adapted by Ron Poff from Stephen Skripak's 1st and 2nd edition adaptations of an existing open textbook. The third edition is an 370-page open education resource intended to serve as a no-cost, faculty customizable primary text for one-semester undergraduate introductory business courses. It covers the following topics in business: Teamwork; economics; ethics; entrepreneurship; business ownership, management, and leadership; organizational structures and operations management; human resources and motivating employees; managing in labor union contexts; marketing and pricing strategy; hospitality and tourism, accounting and finance, and personal finances. The textbook was adapted for use in Virginia Tech’s Pamplin College of Business introductory level business course, MGT1104 Foundations of Business. A detailed list of changes made between the 2nd and 3rd edition are available at the end of the book.
View the Pressbooks version | access the PDF, ePub, ODT | and view print on demand options in color and black & white. Other resources such as slides and a testbank are also available in the resource sharing portal / user group. If you are an instructor reviewing, adopting, or adapting this textbook, please help us understand your use by filling out this form http://bit.ly/business-interest.
License: CC BY NC SA 4.0
IN THE NEWS
Press release at Open@VA (January 6, 2021): Announcing open textbook Fundamentals of Business, third edition
Strategic Management (2020) adapted by Reed Kennedy, with Eli Jamison, Joseph Simpson, Pankaj Kumar, Ayenda Kemp, Kiran Awate, and Kathleen Manning is a 325-page open educational resource designed as an introduction to the key topics and themes of strategic management. The open textbook is intended for a senior capstone course in an undergraduate business program and suitable for a wide range of undergraduate business students including those majoring in marketing, management, business administration, accounting, finance, real estate, business information technology, and hospitality and tourism. The text presents examples of familiar companies and personalities to illustrate the different strategies used by today’s firms and how they go about implementing those strategies. It includes case studies, end of section key takeaways, exercises, and links to external videos, and an end-of-book glossary. The text is ideal for courses which focus on how organizations operate at the strategic level to be successful. Students will learn how to conduct case analyses, measure organizational performance, and conduct external and internal analyses.
View the Pressbooks version | access the PDF, ePub, ODT | and view print on demand options in color and black & white. If you are an instructor reviewing, adopting, or adapting this textbook, please help us understand your use by filling out this form http://bit.ly/strategy-interest
License: CC BY NC SA 3.0
IN THE NEWS
Press release at Open@VA (Sept 15, 2020): Announcing open textbook Strategic Management
Pamplin College of Business (October 19, 2020) Open-sourcing learning resources in Management and Virginia Tech Daily (October 27, 2020) Open-sourcing learning resources in Management Department
Voices of Virginia: An Auditory Primary Source Reader by Jessica Taylor with Emily Stewart
Voices of Virginia pulls together oral histories from across decades and archives in an all-audio source companion for Virginia’s high school and college students. The complete "album" contains dozens of short oral histories from eyewitnesses to key moments in American history from the Civil War to the present. Excerpts are downloadable, accessible by smartphone, and accompanied by a transcript. You’ll also find brief historical context adapted from experts at Encyclopedia Virginia and American Yawp, and classroom tools like discussion questions, activities, and lesson plans that fit Virginia high school standards. By telling the larger national story with narratives from across the Commonwealth, Voices of Virginia grounds students in how history guides and is guided by everyday people. Listen online or download the 150+ page Reader (detailed table of contents, transcripts, questions and lesson plans), and audio clips.
(License: CC BY NC SA)
IN THE NEWS
Virginia Tech Daily (July 2, 2020) Voices of Virginia tells Virginia's story for all to hear.
Winner of the 2020 Oral History Association's Mason Multi-Media award.
Virtual reality brings dog's anatomy to life for veterinary students (news & video from October 2018)
VR dog (2018) and cow (2019) anatomy models for Veterinary Medicine. A collaboration between the Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine, School of Visual Arts, and University Libraries at Virginia Tech.
Normal Canine Video Series
Read more about the project and the grant funds that supported it here.
January 2018 | August 2018 | January 2020
Electromagnetics, Volume 2 (January 2020) by Steven W. Ellingson is a ~216-page, peer-reviewed open educational resource intended for electrical engineering students in the third year of a bachelor of science degree program. It is intended to follow Electromagnetics Vol 1 as the primary textbook for the second-semester of a two-semester undergraduate engineering electromagnetics sequence. The book addresses magnetic force and the Biot-Savart law; fields in general and lossy media; AC current flow and skin depth; reflection and transmission at planar boundaries; fields in parallel plate, parallel wire, and microstrip transmission lines; optical fiber; radiation from current distributions, and antennas. Published: January 2020.
Cover credits: Robert Browder | Cover image: (c) Michelle Yost. Total Internal Reflection is licensed with a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 2.0 license (cropped and/or color edited by Robert Browder)
Fundamentals of Business, 2nd edition (2018) was released in August 2018. It features multiple formats: PDF, Pressbooks, html, ePub (mobile), Mobi (Kindle), Print on Demand, and XML and ODF formats on request. Instructors reviewing, selecting, or adapting the text are encouraged to register their use here. Visit this page for more information and links to the various formats.
Teaching in the University- forthcoming Summer 2021
Edited collection/open textbook by Donna Westfall-Rudd, Courtney Verengrin, Jeremy Elliot-Engel
Introductory text for First-Year Medical Students - forthcoming summer/fall 2021
by Renee LeClaire and Andrew Binks
Aerospace Structures - forthcoming in August 2021
Various Virginia Tech Authors
Storytelling on Screen: An Online Playback Theatre Archive (late summer 2021)
Jordan Rosin and Heidi Winters Vogel
Aircraft Performance (open textbook - forthcoming TBD)
by James F. Marchman III, Emeritas
Fish, Fishing, and Conservation - forthcoming June 2023
Open textbook by Don Orth
Elements of Linear Algebra (open textbook - forthcoming TBD)
by Jason Wilson, Mathematics
The textbook is a proof-based introduction to the core topics of linear algebra including abstract vector spaces and linear maps, diagonalizable operators, and inner product spaces with applications including the singular value decomposition (SVD). The textbook is meant as a second course in linear algebra for students who have completed a first course in linear algebra as well as an introduction to proofs course.