Reference sheets

Overview of AIAA publications

The AIAA publishes books, journals and conference papers (often jointly with other engineering societies). Individual conference papers are published within conference proceedings for specific conferences, and are also part of the AIAA paper series. The AIAA paper series contains most papers presented at AIAA conferences, with each paper being given an AIAA Paper Number. Because of the dual publishing format, (paper series and conference proceedings), AIAA paper citations may be received in either of the two forms.

Retrieving AIAA papers

AIAA Aerospace Research Central
Includes full text of AIAA journal articles and technical papers from 1963 - present as PDFs, as well as full text of the publications of the American Rocket Society and the Institute of the Aerospace Sciences, 1930 - 1962. Citations (not full text) of AIAA standards are also available.

Citations for AIAA papers

If the paper is not available in the database above, and your citation uses the AIAA Paper Number from the AIAA paper series, retrieve the paper from the VT AIAA paper series holdings at TL501 A688 A22x. If the paper is not available from our holdings of the AIAA paper series, use either of the following resources to determine if the paper was presented at a conference. If it was, use Addison to see if we have the conference in paper format.

AIAA Aerospace Research Central
Includes full text of AIAA journal articles and technical papers from 1963 - present as PDFs, as well as full text of the publications of the American Rocket Society and the Institute of the Aerospace Sciences, 1930 - 1962. Citations (not full text) of AIAA standards are also available.
NASA Technical Reports Server
NTRS indexes citations, full-text documents, and multimedia content from NACA and NASA publications and research reports. Content includes conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, theses and dissertations, images, movies, and technical videos. Full text available as PDFs. 1903-present.
The NTRS integrates NASA's following three collections and enables search and retrieval through a common interface:

NACA Collection: Citations and reports from the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics period lasting from 1916 to 1958.
NASA Collection: Citations and documents created or sponsored by NASA starting in 1958 and continuing to the present.
NIX Collection: Citations and images, photos, movies, and videos are downloaded from the NASA Image eXchange and served out through NTRS. NIX is a separate system and users can also go directly to the NIX site to search imagery.

Citations in the NTRS indicate if an item is available online or if it should be ordered. If the item is available from NASA, the citation will provide guidance on ordering items from the NASA Center for AeroSpace Information. If the item is not available from NASA, the citation provides a link to a list of suggested sources from which to order the document.

This provides information on many AIAA technical papers. This database provides a longer backfile than the Aerospace Database mentioned above, but does not index all AIAA papers.

Citation as a conference paper

It's possible that the cite may be to a conference such as A collection of technical papers / AIAA/ASME/ASCE/AHS/ASC Structures, Structural Dynamics, and Materials Conference. A title or author search on the conference name can be used to locate the proceedings. If the proceedings is not available, it is still possible that the paper can be retrieved from the AIAA paper series using the AIAA Paper Number.

If the AIAA Paper Number is not included in the citation, find the number using one of the sources mentioned above.