- University Libraries
- Research Guides
- Subject Guides
- Animal Sciences
- Science & Pre-Vet
Resources
Animal Sciences: Science & Pre-Vet
Resources
Animal and poultry science at Virginia Tech highlights resources most commonly used by those studying the following aspects of animal and poultry sciences: husbandry, management, nutrition, behavior, genetics, and reproduction.
Associations
- United States Animal Health AssociationThe United States Animal Health Association is a forum for communication and coordination among State and Federal governments, universities, industry, and other concerned groups for consideration of issues of animal health and disease control, animal welfare, food safety and public health. It is a clearinghouse for new information and methods, which may be incorporated into laws, regulations, policy, and programs.
- American Veterinary Medical AssociationThe AVMA is the nation’s leading advocate for the veterinary profession. Representing more than 89,000 members, we protect, promote and advocate for the needs of all veterinarians and those they serve.
Recommended online resources: Pre-Vet and Science majors
In addition to the databases listed on the Overview page, the following databases also search journals covering veterinary and other life sciences topics.
- Animal Health and Production Compendium from CABIProvides detailed information on agricultural and biological sciences. It contains datasheets on:
livestock and the diseases that affect them, food safety and quality, and statistical data on animal and economic production. Full-text documents are provided on all aspects of food animals as well as an index to citations for agricultural publications and nearly 2,000 images. A geographic database contains country distribution data for diseases and breeds for use with GIS software. 1910s-present. - PubMed from NLMIndexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.
- Web of Science from Clarivate AnalyticsThe three Web of Science databases index citations from journal articles and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches, analyze trends and patterns, and create visual representations of citation relationships. 1900-present
- Biological Abstracts from Clarivate AnalyticsBiological Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from life science journals and meeting reports. 1926-present.
- VetMed ResourceVetMed Resource is the information source every practice needs to ensure it has current evidence informing its methodologies and supporting its staff's Continuing Education (or Continuing Professional Development).
- AnimalBaseAnimalBase provides copyright-free open access to zoological works and provides manually verified lists of names of zoological genera and species. It includes digitized books and journal articles, most from prior to 1900, in their original language. Documents display as scanned images; many can be downloaded as PDFs. You can also search or browse by species, genus, or family. 350BCE-present.
[Image from Wikimedia Commons]
![Wikimedia Commons]](https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:The_new_book_of_the_dog_-_a_comprehensive_natural_history_of_British_dogs_and_their_foreign_relatives,_with_chapters_on_law,_breeding,_kennel_management,_and_veterinary_treatment_(1911)_(white_background).jpg){kind=link}
Scientific Publishers
You can also search publisher's platforms directly. The following publishers include books, journal articles, and other information sources (note, not all are included in the library's collections. Use Interlibrary Loan to request materials you need that we do not have access to.).