Animal Sciences: Overview
Animal and poultry science at Virginia Tech highlights resources most commonly used by those studying the following aspects of animal and poultry sciences: husbandry, management, nutrition, behavior, genetics, and reproduction.
General overview/background resources
Introduction to Animal Science by
A flexible, current, and comprehensive look at the biological, industry, and species approaches to Animal Science, complete with worldview information and societal issues. Relevant and timely, Introduction to Animal Science features the most comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of the traditional disciplines that are so essential to a solid foundation in Animal Science: nutrition, digestion, feeds, genetics, reproduction, disease, and animal behavior. The text's comprehensive, non-traditional approach introduces the discipline as an ever-changing, integral part of every aspect of human existence. The Sixth Edition features updated, expanded, and improved coverage including the latest statistical information as appropriate; improvements to the lactation chapter, the animal health chapter, and the animal health sections in each of the species chapters; substantial updates in the biotechnology chapter and the nutrition chapters; enhanced material on food safety; new figures and redesigned and updated graphics throughout; streamlined tables with greater emphasis on example information; and enhanced margin terms and glossary terms to facilitate reading and understanding of the material.
Call Number: SF61 .D36 2018 (earlier editions available)Publication Date: 2018
Scientific Farm Animal Production by
A comprehensive, science-based approach to building livestock and poultry management systems for food, fiber, and recreation. It effectively integrates the scientific disciplines that support livestock and poultry production with detailed information about the primary livestock species, appropriate management protocols, and the market forces that impact demand across the supply chain. As a result of a comprehensive review by nearly 20 professionals, this new edition features increased clarity, depth and accuracy, including improved end-of-chapter questions; updated and enhanced figures and color photos; the latest demographic data; an expanded discussion of social and consumer issues; and an authoritative look at the trends, issues, and opportunities for animal agriculture.
Call Number: SF61 .B63 2016Publication Date: 2016
Recommended databases for animal/livestock topics
- CAB Abstracts from CABICAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.
- AGRICOLA from ProQuest
This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA indexes citations for journal articles, books, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science. This database provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present. - PubAg from the USDAPubAg indexes citations and full-text of agricultural scientific literature. 1997-present.
- Animal AgricultureAnimal Agriculture.org provides full-text conference proceedings/presentations, white papers, and committee reports in PDF. Sponsored by the National Institute for Animal Agriculture.
- HABRI CentralSearch thousands of journal articles, books, and more for human-animal interaction content.
Broader subject databases
- PubMed from NLMIndexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.
- ScopusScopus indexes citations of journal articles, conference papers, and books in the sciences, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches. You can compare authors, institutions, and journals using various metrics. 1800s-present
Head, Veterinary Medicine Librarian & Liaison to Animal Sciences
Ask a Librarian
Interlibrary Loan Services
All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:
- not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
- owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
- owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).
Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.