Psychology is the study of human and animal behavior and the psychological, social, and biological processes related to that behavior. Virginia Tech's curriculum emphasizes methods of conducting research and understanding behavioral data.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of searchable ebook reference works. You can search within a particular work or across the entire collection. Individual articles from these sources are presented in HTML and PDF. Illustrations, photos, maps, and multimedia content is often included.
This open textbook provides a free, frequently updated overview of the Psychology discipline. Check out Chapter 1 for Theories - historical and contemporary. Chapter 2, Psychological Research, covers Approaches and Analysis methods.
PsycINFO indexes citations, abstracts, cited references, and some full text from articles, books, dissertations, and reviews on all aspects of psychology. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources, age group, classification code, methodology, and population group. 1840-present.
PsycARTICLES indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to age groups, classification codes, methodology, and population group. 1894-present.
Indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.
PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, magazines, and book reviews in the field of psychiatry and psychology, anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics. Full-text articles are available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1930-present.
PsycCRITIQUES provides full-text reviews of current books and some popular films, videos, and software as well as comparative reviews of books in the field of psychology. The focus is on current books—most new reviews are of books in current year. Reviews are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Full text available in HTML. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1956-2017.
PsycTHERAPY provides unscripted videos of therapy sessions, with searchable transcripts and the ability to create playlists.
More than 200 different topics covered throughout hundreds of hours of filmed demonstrations
Demonstrations exemplifying various therapist interactions with individuals, couples, and families
High-quality content and features
Interactions from therapy demonstrations utilizing a wide range of approaches
Contains only unscripted, spontaneous therapy sessions taped in the last 10 years
Highly flexible tool with synchronized, searchable transcripts that enhance user navigation and access
Ability to tag segments of each therapy demonstration to create, save, or share personal playlists
APA has produced educational therapy demonstration videos since the mid-1990s
All videos in PsycTHERAPY were originally taped in conjunction with the APA Psychotherapy Video Series and will only be available in PsycTHERAPY
Demonstrations conducted with master practitioners who are experts in their respective fields, featuring the most recent versions of classic therapeutic approaches as well as newer approaches
Official APA tutorial: Skim through for what you need or watch it all! "This tutorial is designed for those who have no previous knowledge of APA Style®. It shows users how to structure and format their work, recommends ways to reduce bias in language, identifies how to avoid charges of plagiarism, shows how to cite references in text, and provides selected reference examples."
This page on the VT Libraries site provides info on APA citation style and links to the library copy of the print manual (scroll to the bottom of the page) and online resources for help in using this style.