- University Libraries
- Research Guides
- Subject Guides
- Psychology
- Recommended Resources
Psychology: Recommended Resources
Psychology is the study of human and animal behavior and the psychological, social, and biological processes related to that behavior. Virginia Tech's curriculum emphasizes methods of conducting research and understanding behavioral data.
Recommended Scholarly Research Databases
- APA PsycINFO from EBSCOhost
This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO indexes over five million citations, abstracts, cited references, and some full text from articles, books, dissertations, and reviews. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. 1840-present. - Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, magazines, and book reviews. Includes 470 full text journals, 290 of which are also indexed in PsycINFO. 1930-present. - APA PsycARTICLES from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES indexes full text from ~120 peer reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. All these journals are also included in PsycINFO. 1894-present.
- Cross-search Psychology Databases on EBSCOCross search the major psychology databases: APA databases: PsycINFO, PsycBOOKS, PsycARTICLES; and Psychological and Behavioral Sciences Collections.
Differences & Overlap between the Three Major Psychology Databases
Download the PDF text-readable version of the Venn Diagram (shown below) 
Download the PDF text-readable version of this Venn Diagram (shown above)
- PsycCRITIQUESPsycCRITIQUES provides full-text reviews of current books and some popular films, videos, software, comparative reviews of books in the field of psychology. 1956-2017.
- ScopusThis is a large multidisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes journal articles, conference papers, and books in the sciences, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. It indexes a great deal of content in psychology and other related fields.
- PubMed from NLMIndexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.1946-present.
Overview Resources for Psychology
- Gale EbooksGale Ebooks is a collection of searchable ebook reference works. You can search within a particular work or across the entire collection.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineOxford Handbooks Online provides scholarly overviews of topics through in-depth articles, including handbooks in psychology.
- Psychology - OpenStax Open TextbookThis open textbook provides a free, frequently updated overview of the Psychology discipline.
Videos, Images, Multimedia
- APA PsycTHERAPY from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
PsycTHERAPY provides unscripted videos of therapy sessions, with searchable transcripts and the ability to create playlists.
The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)
JoVE is a unique collection of peer reviewed video journals. These JoVE collections are relevant to the field of psychology:
- JoVE BehaviorJournal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) Behavior includes observational and experimental methods to understand human and animal behavior.
- JoVE Science EducationJoVE Science Education is a revolutionary video library dedicated to teaching scientific fundamentals through simple easy-to-understand video demonstrations.
- JoVE NeuroscienceJoVE Neuroscience includes methods and techniques for studying the brain and nervous system; also featuring potential treatments for neurological conditions and diseases.
Psychology Librarian
APA Citation Resources
- APA Tutorial: The Basics of APA StyleOfficial APA tutorial: Skim through for what you need or learn it all!
- APA Style - In-text Citations"Guidance for in-text citation in general and paraphrases and direct quotations."
- APA Style - References"Accurately prepared references help establish your credibility as a careful researcher and writer."
Interlibrary Loan Services
All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:
- not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
- owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
- owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).
Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.