Local History and Genealogical Research in the University Libraries: E. Published Local & County Histories

New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company

Hours: 
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment

Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors

Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)

• Bodell, A Guide to Resources for the History of Blacksburg Virginia Call No.: Ref F234 B5 V57 1991 Special Collections, Newman 3rd floor, Newman Microforms Reference, Art & Architecture Reference
• Chalkley, Chronicles of the Scotch-Irish Settlement in Virginia: Extracted from the Original Court Records of Augusta County, 1745-1800 3 vol. Call No.: F232 A9 A9 Special Collections and Newman 3rd floor
• Cox, Foot Prints on the Sands of Time Call No.: F226.6 C79 1900 Special Collections
• Crush, The Montgomery County Story, 1776-1957 Call No.: F232 M7 C7 Special Collections, Newman 3rd floor, and Remote Storage (requires notice for retrieval)
• Genealogy and Local History Local History Section, Pt. 1 Call No.: CS47 G36 Newman Microfiche (Published title guide and index available in Newman Microforms Reference)
• Givens, Christiansburg, Montgomery County, Virginia Call No.: F232 M7 G57 Special Collections and Newman 3rd floor
• Hardesty, Excerpts from Hardesty’s Historial and Geographical Encyclopedia Call No.: F232 S75 E9 Special Collections, Newman 3rd floor, and Remote Storage (requires notice for retrieval)
• Harris, King George County Virginia 1720-1990 Call No.: F232 K45 H3 1990 Newman 3rd floor
• Heavener, U.S.A. German New River Settlement, Virginia Call No.: F232 N5 H44 1961 Special Collections and Newman 3rd floor
• Johnson, P.G. Confederate Woman of New River Border Country Call No.: F232 G4 J64 1993 Special Collections and Newman 3rd floor
• Johnson, The New River Early Settlement Call No.: F247 N5 J63 1983 Special Collections and Newman 3rd floor
• Kagey, When Past is Prologue: A History of Roanoke County Call No.: F232 R6 K34 1988 Special Collections and Newman 3rd floor
• Kegley, Early Adventures on the Western Waters Call No.: F232 N5 K36 Special Collections and Newman 3rd floor
• Kegley, Kegley’s Virginia Frontier Call No.: F229 K26 Special Collections, Newman 3rd floor, and Remote Storage (requires notice for retrieval)
• Kegley, Tax List of Montgomery County, Virginia 1782 Call No.: F232 M7 K4 Special Collections and Newman 3rd floor
• McCombs, Southwest Virginia Counties: A Checklist of Research Materials in the Virginia Tech University Libraries Call No.: F226 V58 1985 Special Collections and Newman 3rd floor
• Montgomery County (Va.) Commissioner of Revenue, Land Tax Books, 1782-1850 Call No.: HJ9012 V8 M7 Newman Microfilm
• Parker, Local History, How to Gather It, Write It, and Publish It Call No.: E175.7 P3 Newman 3rd floor
• Price, Outlines of Montgomery County Families Call No.: CS69 P75 Special Collections, Newman 2nd floor, and Newman Microfilm
• Reflections—Christiansburg, 1792-1992 Call No.: F234 C52 R44 1992 Special Collections and Newman 3rd floor
• Spear, Bibliography of American Directories Through 1860 Call No.: Z5771 S7 Newman 5th floor
• Summers, Annals of Southwest Virginia, 1769-1800 Call No.: F226 S82 1929, 1970, and 1992 editions: Newman 3rd floor; 1929 edition only: Special Collections
• Summers, History of Southwest Virginia, 1777-1870; Washington County, 1777-1870 Call No.: F232 W3 S9 Special Collections, Newman 3rd floor, and Remote Storage (requires notice for retrieval)
• Swem, Virginia Historical Index 4 vol. Call No.: F221 S93 1934 edition: Special Collections; 1965 edition: Newman 3rd floor
• Turk, The Union Hole: Unionist Activity and Local Conflict in Western Virginia Tech Call No.: F232 C8 T87 1994 Special Collections
• U.S. Library of Congress, United States Local Histories in the Library of Congress: A Bibliography 4 vol. Call No.: E180 U59 1975 Newman 3rd floor
• Veimeister, Illustrated Historical Diary of Bedford Virginia Call No.: F234 B4 V54 1993 Special Collections
• Virginia Circuit Court (Montgomery County) Montgomery County Records Call No.: KFV2916 M6 A7 1773 Newman Microfilm
• Virginia State Library, Virginia Local History: A Bibliography Call No.: F226 V5 1971 Newman 3rd floor and Remote Storage (requires notice for retrieval)
• Wayland, Virginia Valley Records [Rockingham, Augusta, Greenbrier, Wythe and Montgomery Counties] Call No.: F232 R7 W32 Newman 3rd floor
• Worsham, Pezzoni & Worsham, Montgomery County Historic Sites Survey Call No.: F232 M7 M74 1986 Special Collections and Newman 3rd floor
• Yantis, Genealogical and Local History Books in Print Call No.: Z5313 U5 Special Collections
• Yantis, Montgomery County, Virginia Tax List: A, B, C for the Year 1788 Call No.: F232 M7 Y37 Special Collections and Newman 3rd floor
• Yantis, Montgomery County, Virginia Circa 1790: Study Including the 1789 Tax Lists, Abstracts
  of Over 800 Land Surveys and Data Concerning Migration Call No.: F232 M7 Y36 Special Collections and Newman 3rd floor