Local History and Genealogical Research in the University Libraries: M. Maps, Directories, & Places
This guide includes resources available in Special Collections, Newman Library, and online that can aid in local genealogy research.
About Special Collections and University Archives
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
Hours:
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment
Contact us:
Email: specref@vt.edu
Telephone: 540-231-6308
Twitter: @VT_SCUA
Information for Visitors
Find us online!
Our website
Our digital collections
Our blog
Our LibGuide (Information about us and our collections)
Maps, Directories, & Places
See also the map collections in Newman Library and Special Collections. For Virginia maps, see also
Virginia Topographic Map Series Historical Call No.: G3881 C1 V57 Newman Microfilm
- Gannett, A Gazetteer of Virginia and West Virginia Call No.: F224 G19 1975 Newman 3rd floor
- Geological Survey, Virginia Geographic Names Call No.: F224 V57 1981 Newman 3rd floor and Remote Storage (requires notice for retrieval)
- “Maps Relating to Virginia in the Virginia State Library,” in the Virginia State Library Bulletin, v. 7/8 no. 2/3, pp.35-273 (194) Call No.: Z881 V81B Remote Storage (requires notice for retreival)
- Sanchez-Saavedra, A Description of the Country: Virginia’s Cartographers and Their Maps: 1607-1881 Call No.: GA455 S26 Newman 3rd floor
- Topping, Approved Place Names in Virginia through 1969 Call No.: F224 A55 Newman 3rd floor
Directories Online (Requires VT access)
- City and Business Directories: Virginia, 1801-1929The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of a city and information about the city's civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations. Includes addresses, city and county officers, heads of families, firms, and names of those doing business in the city, lists of city residents, occupations, and street directories.
- City and Business Directories: West Virginia, 1839-1929The collection provides historical, personal, and professional information about the inhabitants of a city and information about the city's civic, social, benevolent, and literary organizations. Includes addresses, city and county officers, heads of families, firms, and names of those doing business in the city, lists of city residents, occupations, and street directories.