- University Libraries
- Research Guides
- Topic Guides
- Elements at Virginia Tech
- College Guides & Templates
Elements at Virginia Tech: College Guides & Templates
Most colleges have their own Faculty Activity Report (FAR) template, available for download below and on the University Data Commons (UDC).
To download the template on UDC, select your college from the dropdown menu and then the select the correct report type (sometimes it's the Activity Summary, and sometimes colleges create specific reports, such as 'CALS Faculty Activity Report.')
These templates give specific instructions about how to use the Elements system so that the template will be correctly populated with your activities from the past year. Download your college template below for more information.
Login & Support
Contact Us
This links directly to a 4help form and will directly notify the Elements support team.
Elements Workshop Slides
College-level Templates & Guides
College of Architecture, Arts, and Design FAR Template
The AAD FAR template includes information about the data that is pulled from Elements, though the information below each heading will not appear in the generated eFAR but serve to guide faculty in knowing where information originates for the eFAR. In addition, specific headings will not appear in the generated eFAR in which no activities are added from those categories in Elements.
- AAD Faculty Activity Report TemplateThis is the template for the AAD FAR, based on the P&T Dossier.
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences FAR Templates
These templates are from 2022 and not for the current fiscal year, but they are foundational and provide important instructions on how to complete data entries in Elements so that the template populates Elements data correctly.
- CALS Faculty Activity Report TemplateFAR template for CALS faculty
- CALS Extension Faculty Activity Report TemplateFAR template for CALS extension faculty.
College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences FAR Template
The CLAHS template provides important instructions on how to complete data entries in Elements so that the template populates Elements data correctly.
- CLAHS Faculty Activity Report TemplateDownload the CLAHS FAR template for instructions on completing your FAR and correct data entry in Elements.
College of Engineering FAR Templates
These COE templates provide important instructions on how to use the template and complete data entries in Elements so that the template populates Elements data correctly.
- COE FAR Template (limited Elements)This eFAR template has description in red type that will not appear in the generated eFAR but serve to guide faculty in knowing where information originates for the eFAR.
- COE FAR Template (extended Elements)This eFAR template has description in red type that will not appear in the generated eFAR but serve to guide faculty in knowing where information originates for the eFAR.
- CoE EFAR: I did this...where does it go?This guide / cheat sheet will help you to correctly enter your activities in Elements based on the COE FAR template. Tip: Use CTRL+F to search for keywords of activities you've conducted. If you can't find an activity, contact Rachel Miles (ramiles@vt.edu) and she will figure out where it goes and get it added to the cheat sheet!
Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine FAR Template
The VMCVM FAR template includes information about the data that is pulled from Elements, though the information below each heading will not appear in the generated FAR but serve to guide faculty in knowing where information originates for the FAR. In addition, specific headings will not appear in the generated FAR in which no activities are added from those categories in Elements.
- VMCVM Faculty Activity Report TemplateThis is the FAR template for VMCVM.
Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine (VTCSOM) CV Template
The VTCSOM CV template includes information about the data that is pulled from Elements, though the information below each heading will not appear in the generated CV but serve to guide faculty in knowing where information originates for the CV. In addition, specific headings will not appear in the generated CV in which no activities are added from those categories in Elements.
- VTCSOM CV TemplateThis template is the VTCSOM CV template, used for faculty annual reporting.
VTCSOM Faculty Affairs Elements & CV Guides
The VTCSOM Faculty Affairs website is kept up-to-date for VTCSOM faculty on Elements resources, generating your CV, using the Elements system, activating your public-facing Experts profile, and Elements training videos.
- VTCSOM Elements GuideIncludes resources on Elements, Elements FAQ, how to populate and generate your annual CV, and Elements training videos.
Pamplin College of Business FAR Template
The Pamplin FAR template includes information about the data that is pulled from Elements, though the information below each heading will not appear in the generated FAR but serve to guide faculty in knowing where information originates for the FAR. In addition, specific headings will not appear in the generated FAR in which no activities are added from those categories in Elements.
- Pamplin FAR TemplateFaculty activity report for the College of Business that is based on the "Activity Summary" Individual Report. This report includes 5 years of data for certain types in order to look at trends and also includes AACSB information. It is intended to be used as an annual activity report.
College of Science FAR Templates
The CoS FAR template includes information about the data that is pulled from Elements, though the information below each heading will not appear in the generated FAR but serve to guide faculty in knowing where information originates for the FAR. In addition, specific headings will not appear in the generated FAR in which no activities are added from those categories in Elements.
- COS FAR TemplateThis is the FAR template for the College of Science.
College of Natural Resources and Environment FAR Template
The CNRE FAR template includes information about the data that is pulled from Elements, though the information below each heading will not appear in the generated FAR but serve to guide faculty in knowing where information originates for the FAR. In addition, specific headings will not appear in the generated FAR in which no activities are added from those categories in Elements.
- CNRE FAR TemplateThis is CNRE's FAR template
For FY23, the University Libraries will still be using Elements' assessment module. In other words, UL faculty will be expected to submit their faculty activity report through the Elements system as well as input their activity data (publications, professional service, etc.) through Elements. Below are guides to help UL faculty with completing their FAR.
- Faculty Evaluation ProceduresThe University Libraries' Faculty Evaluation Procedures, updated in April 2020. Use these procedures for completing your FAR. Expectations of performance for the purposes of annual evaluation are described in the Procedures on Promotion and Continued Appointment (PPCA), Section 3. See next link below.
- Procedures on Promotion and Continued AppointmentGo to Section 3: Criteria for Review: Performance, Professional Engagement, and University Service, for details about how to structure your FAR.
- Library eFAR with ElementsThese slides will help you with completing your FAR in Elements. They also link to relevant documentation (such as the two above).
- Library FAR Template (BETA)This is the FAR template for library faculty. This is a new template, and it will be used for the upcoming FAR in April / May 2024. However, it is still being tested. You can test out how your information imports from Elements to the template by going to the UDC and downloading your FAR.
- Your Position Description (PD) via PageUpYour current PD should be available at this link via the Hiring Manager section of Virginia Tech Human Resources PageUp system.
The promotion and tenure dossier is for all faculty across all colleges going up for promotion and tenure.
Honors College FAR Templates
The Honors College FAR template includes information about the data that is pulled from Elements, though the information below each heading will not appear in the generated FAR but serve to guide faculty in knowing where information originates for the FAR. In addition, specific headings will not appear in the generated FAR in which no activities are added from those categories in Elements.
- Honors FAR TemplateReport template for the Honors College FAR