Elements at Virginia Tech: Populate Scholarly & Creative Work

The Elements system searches online databases including Web of Science, Scopus, PubMed, MLA, ArXiv, SSRN, DBLP, and RePEc, as well as VTechWorks for publications that belong to you, which is why name-based search settings are important for accurate identification of your scholarly works. These settings help to ensure the most accurate possible identification of your scholarly and creative works by searching for your name variations and affiliations (by state and country). 

1. Go to Menu - Settings - Name-based Search
   
2. Add all combinations of your last name and initials under which you publish. 
   However, if you have a common last name, you probably do not want to add a name variation with your first initial and last name (e.g., L. Kim, T. Smith), because this will cause the system to erroneously find many inaccurate authors in the system.
   You should also add the name variants in this format: Last Name, First Name/Initial(s)
   
3. Add the names of the US states and/or countries (if you have published outside the US) in the Addresses field (e.g., China, Great Britain, Virginia, Colorado, etc.). Do not add the full address or cities. 
   
4. Scroll all the way to the bottom and select SAVE.
   

When you configure Elements to configure automatic claiming with your associated ORCID, ResearcherID, Scopus ID, or other unique author identifiers, the publications or works associated with those identifiers will automatically be claimed for you in Elements. Otherwise, you must review and accept or reject each publication.

To set up automatic claiming for your researcher identifiers across databases and ORCID: 

1. Go to Menu--Settings--Automatic Claiming
   
2. You may see one or more researcher identifiers suggested. Go through each identifier (click on the identifier number, and it will open a new tab on the database page).
   
   Go through the publications listed on the database to verify they are yours. Here's an example of a researcher profile/identifier on Scopus (publications are listed at the bottom):
   
3. If a suggested identifier is yours, select "Yes" and leave the suggested option, "Auto claim associated items" selected. Select "Confirm."
   
4. If a suggested identifier is not yours, select "No" and leave the suggested option, "Auto reject associated items" selected. Select "Confirm."
   
5. Next, if you have other profiles, you can add your external profiles manually.
   1. You'll see a listing of the different profiles you can add manually, such as arXiv Author Identifier, ORCID, ResearcherID (from Web of Science), Scopus ID, etc.
      
   2. Click on the identifier you want to add. Keep in mind that for some of these, you may not have actually created them. For example, Dimensions and Scopus are large bibliographic databases that automatically generate researcher identifiers in their database. If you did not have any suggested identifiers and you do actively publish, you should perform one or both steps below to help with automatic claiming in Elements.

      (If necessary), find your Scopus ID and add it to Elements ►  

      To find your Scopus ID, go to http://scopus.com/ 

      1. Select 'Author Search' in the top right corner
      2. Type in your Last Name, First Name, and Affiliation (if your name is common; otherwise leave blank. Be sure to use an affiliation under which you've published)
      3. Select 'Search'
      4. Select the correct author name from the list. If there is more than one that could be yours, verify that the publications listed are yours first (open up the author pages in a new window or tab). Once you know they are yours, you can select them all and select 'Request to merge authors.' 
      5. Open the author profile page(s) and find the author identifier, which is listed beneath the author name: 
         
      6. Go back Elements and select 'Dimensions Researcher ID from the list of 'Add external profiles.' Paste the identifier and select 'Search.'
      7. A list of some of the publications will be shown for you to verify that the identifier is yours. If it looks correct, select 'Next'
      8. Leave the default option selected, 'Auto claim associated items' and select 'Confirm.'

       

      (If necessary), find your Dimensions Researcher ID and add it to Elements ►

      To find your Dimensions Researcher ID(s), go to https://app.dimensions.ai/discover/publication

      1. Select the 'Researchers' filter option, select "More" below the last researcher listed, and a search box will appear; then type your name in the search box. Hit enter. Options will display with various affiliations; select the correct one. 
         
      2. Select "Limit to" at the bottom of the search filters. You will now be on your Dimensions Researcher Profile/Identifier page. 
      3. Copy the end of the URL starting with 'ur.' to get your Dimensions Researcher ID. For example, this profile's URL is https://app.dimensions.ai/discover/publication?or_facet_researcher=ur.015150374033.97, and the identifier is "ur.015150374033.97"
      4. Go back Elements and select 'Dimensions Researcher ID from the list of 'Add external profiles.' Paste the identifier and select 'Search.'
      5. A list of some of the publications will be shown for you to verify that the identifier is yours. If it looks correct, select 'Next'
      6. Leave the default option selected, 'Auto claim associated items' and select 'Confirm.'

You may have other scholarly works that are not populated by the major researcher identifiers and databases linked in Elements. You can either add them manually (Step 4) or import them from a bibliographic file, (e.g., BibTeX or RIS file). These file types can usually be exported from reference managers, scholarly databases, and Google Scholar Profiles.

Here are (optional) steps for exporting a BibTeX file from your Google Scholar Profile, but keep in mind that Google Scholar data is low quality and sometimes inaccurate. As a result, if you decide to use a BibTeX file from your Google Scholarly Profile, you may want to import that into a reference manager first, such as Zotero or Mendeley, clean up the records, export it from the reference manager, and then import it into Elements. 

To import an RIS or BibTeX file to Elements: 

1. Go to Menu--Tools--Import Scholarly & Creative Works
   
2. Choose your BibTeX or RIS file
3. Select the corresponding radio button (RIS or BibTeX).
4. Select 'Upload.'
   
5. They system may identify some or all of the records from your file as duplicates. If that is the case, go through the list, and you can either "supplement existing," "import as new," or "Just add the link," as in the link to the record from your file. Leave the "Author" relationship selected unless your relationship with the record is different, such as an editor:
   
6. If the system identifies some of your records as new and they turn out to be duplicates, you can go back and join the records later (Step 6). 
7. Select 'Import.'

Next you'll want to navigate to your scholarly and creative works page to make any edits to your works or to add new works manually. If you're already on that page, you can skip 'Correct the Work Type,' just below it.

If there is an error with one of the references listed, you can correct it by following the instructions below.

Correct the Work Type

Make sure the work is correctly categorized. Categorizing the correct type of work will enable the correct fields for the work, which is important to complete first for editing and correcting scholarly works.

1. If the type is incorrect, click the pencil next to the current type.
   ​​​

2. Select the correct work type from the popup menu.
   

Correct and/or add fields within the record

1. When/if the reference is correctly categorized, click the title of the work to view the full record.
   

2. Scroll down to the Data Sources and choose pencil edit icon on the right.
   

3. Edit the necessary fields. Make sure to fill required fields marked with a red * (Asterisks). Click the ? icon to learn more about the field.
   

4. Finally, when all information has been updated, click the Save button at the bottom of the screen.
   

Sometimes, it is more appropriate to add certain scholarly and creative works to Elements, especially if those works are not indexed in any databases. For example, you may want to add a conference presentation, abstract, or poster. Or you may want to add a scholarly work that has been accepted but not yet published, so that it will be added to your annual faculty activity report. Try to remember that you may get a duplicate after it is published, in which case, you can join the duplicates (see Step 6 for joining duplicates). 

1. Go to your Scholarly & creative works page.
2. Select the plus sign (+) in the top right corner:
   
3. Choose the most appropriate work type. If it is not listed, choose Other.
   
4. Elements will first ask you to type in the title to search for it on its system, which links to many databases and sources. You can skip this step if you are certain it is not in Elements already, such as a poster presentation that has not been added by your or a co-author. 
5. Fill out the form as thoroughly as possible. It's okay to leave some entries blank, especially if they don't apply, but the richer the data, the easier it will be for you and others to use it in the future, and it will be easier to identify the work as a duplicate in the future if it gets added again, either through manual or automatic means. 
6. Select Save. 
7. Elements will ask if you'd like to deposit the item to VTechWorks, the institutional repository. This is recommended if you have a file readily available. In addition, our Open Access Policy allows you to add the Author's Accepted Manuscript (AAM), which is the manuscript before typesetting and final formatting but after peer review, immediately upon acceptance or publication (see this guide on how to prepare your manuscript for deposit). 
   1. If you do not have a file ready yet, you can skip this step for now and revisit it later. 
   2. You can also add PDFs and Word docs of less formal scholarly works, such as presentation slides, posters, and other projects. You can add data sets to VTechData. 

Some publications may have already been accepted on your behalf by staff in the library or the provost's office. You should review accepted publications for accuracy.

If Elements has identified publications that may belong to you and need to be reviewed, you will see an alert on the home page under My Actions. Select Claim Now and review the list. Claim and reject the publications as appropriate.

1. Select CLAIM NOW
   
2. Claim and reject publications in the pending list: 
   

After completing steps 1 through 5, you should review your scholarly works for accuracy and completeness and check for duplicates. 

1. Navigate to your scholarly and creative works page.
2. View the maximum number of scholarly works (100) on the page. 
3. Sort the works alphabetically.
   
4. Review all your scholarly works. Look for missing data on your records, such as the publication date or conference name. Edit records as needed. 
5. If you find duplicates, select the three dots in the upper-right corner for each duplicate record, and select Add to workspace. Review all works before moving to the next step to join/merge/combine duplicates.
   

   If necessary, join duplicates in the workspace ►

   1. After you've added duplicates to your workspace, navigate to the workspace by going to Menu--Tools--Workspace.
      
   2. Select the works that are duplicated (do not select all of them at once, or you will end up with many records merged that should not be merged). Select Join. 
   3. Confirm that you wish to proceed to join the duplicates. Select Okay. 
      
   4. When you are done joining duplicates, select Clear the workspace.
      
   5. It will ask if you're sure you want to clear the workspace. Select Okay. 

You can make your scholarly and creative works openly available to the world by depositing them in VTechWorks, Virginia Tech's institutional repository. Making your work Open Access (OA) improves your visibility and can also boost your impact as a researcher.

Please note: Virginia Tech's open access policy covers accepted manuscripts for scholarly articles that are already scheduled to be published. If you are considering a patent or other invention or technology IP (intellectual property), check in with Link License Launch (LLL) and their Resources for Inventors before moving forward with any publication or release of manuscripts or data.

There are two types of works you can make OA in VTechWorks:

• Works that have never been published or deposited online, such as conference presentation slides, posters, and data sets.
  • Note about copyright: if you're depositing conference slides or a poster, you usually retain copyright unless they publish conference proceedings, and even then, they usually only ask you to sign over copyright to the conference paper, not the presentation. In addition, conference organizers will have to ask presenters to sign over copyright, so you should have a record of it, and they should definitely have a record of it. If you are in doubt, you can always reach out to the conference organizers to verify.
• Author's Accepted Manuscripts (AAM) of published scholarly articles, such as journal articles and book chapters, which can be deposited immediately upon acceptance or publication under the Virginia Tech Open Access Policy. If your published article is not already OA, consider depositing the AAM in VTechWorks to increase its visibility and impact.