Food & Drink History Resources @Virginia Tech (and Beyond): Sources for Selected Topics
Introduction to Sources for Selected Topics
The selected topics in this section have been created based around some of our strengths in the food and drink history collecting area. The topics listed are covered broadly and you will be able to locate additional resources by searching on your own or with assistance from Special Collections and University Archives. Resources may appear on more than one page, as topics can often overlap. You can also browse/search a list of more than 75 manuscript collections which relate to food history. Please note: This guide ONLY includes suggested/representative readings and manuscript collections (both primary and secondary sources) in Special Collections and University Archives, not everything we may have on a given topic.
We recommend you search the catalog or the finding aid database or contact Special Collections and University Archives for help in locating these and other materials throughout the library. If you need assistance finding resources, check out the section on "Special Collections and University Archives" for advice on how to search our tools. Look at the "Digital Collections & Exhibits," "Physical Collections," and "Online Resources" sections to identify materials located online or at other cultural heritage institutions. You can always contact Special Collections and University Archives (email@example.com or 540-231-6308 8am-5pm). We can help you find materials and hopefully include them here for future use.
In addition, we often feature publications, manuscript collections, and authors on our "What's Cookin' @ Special Collections?!" culinary history blog. Posts can include additional background information and research, as well as links to other resources and images. We encourage you to search through if you're researching a particular topic!
Special Collections Culinary Links
From Knox Gelatine: Desserts, Salads, Candies and Frozen Dishes, c.1936
- History of Food & Drink Manuscript Collections
- Digitized Manuscript Collections
- Digitized Books
- What's Cookin' @Special Collections (blog)
- About the History of Food & Drink collecting area
- History of Food & Drink LibGuide
- Infant, Child, & Family Nutrition Resources LibGuide
- Cocktail History in America LibGuide
About Special Collections and University Archives
New Theatre (the Lyric) and Store Building for the Blacksburg Realty Company
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment
Selected Topics/Themes (links go directly to subpages on this guide, unless otherwise noted)
Quaker Oats trade card "Quaker Oats Train Crossing the Rockies," 1893