Food & Drink History Resources @Virginia Tech (and Beyond): Notable Brands: Cookbooks and Pamphlets

From Knox Gelatine: Desserts, Salads, Candies and Frozen Dishes, c.1936

• History of Food & Drink Manuscript Collections
• Digitized Manuscript Collections
• Digitized Books
• What's Cookin' @Special Collections (blog)
• About the History of Food & Drink collecting area
• History of Food & Drink LibGuide
• Infant, Child, & Family Nutrition Resources LibGuide
• Cocktail History in America LibGuide

Manuscript Collections

• Culinary Pamphlet Collection, Ms2011-002 - Box-Folder 6 folder: 16
• World War II Sugar Rationing Pamphlets, 1941-1945, Ms2015-048 - Folder 1

Books and Publications

• The Betty Crocker recipe card library. TX715 .C8766 1971
• The Bisquick cookbook ; recipes from Betty Crocker in answer to your requests TX715 .C94 1964
• So quick with new Bisquick : a Betty Crocker cookbook for breads, main dishes, desserts. TX715 .S677 1967
• Betty Crocker's Microwave cooking TX832 .C76 1984
• Betty Crocker's Bisquick cookbook : 157 recipes and ideas / from Betty Crocker. TX715 .C92139 1956
• Betty Crocker's cookbook. TX715 .C9214 1969
• Betty Crocker's step-by-step recipes. TX715 .C763 1975
• Betty Crocker's Pie parade : from the famous Betty Crocker's Picture cook book. TX773 .C76 1957
• Betty Crocker's Breads TX769 .C74 1974
• Betty Crocker's Hostess cookbook TX728 .C87 1967
• Betty Crocker's Cookie Book TX772.C7 1963
• Betty Crocker's Starting out TX147. C917
• Betty Crocker's parties for children GV1203 .F665 1964
• Betty Crocker's cook book for boys and girls TX652.5 .C5 1957
• Selections from Betty Crocker's Dinner for two.  TX715 .S44 1982
• Betty Crocker's outdoor cook book / TX823 .C672 2009
• Betty Crocker's Dinner for two TX652 .C76 1958
• Betty Crocker's new boys' and girls' cookbook.  TX652.5 .C7 1990
• Betty Crocker's "frankly fancy" foods recipe book. TX731 .B47 1959
• Betty Crocker's cook book for boys and girls / TX652.5 .C56 1957
• Betty Crocker's cooky book /TX772 .C72 1963
• Betty Crocker's ultimate cookie book. TX772 .C73 1992
• Betty Crocker's Working woman's cookbook. TX652 .C832 1982
• Betty Crocker's Good and easy cookbook. TX715 .C9216 1954
• Betty Crocker's New boys and girls cookbook TX652.5 .C7 1972
• Betty Crocker's New outdoor cookbook / TX823 .C67 1967
• Betty Crocker's creative recipes with Bisquick TX769 .C76 1980
• How to have the most fun with cake mixes TX771 .C725 1955
• Betty Crocker's Cooking with wine TX726 .C76 1974
• Betty Crocker's $25,000 recipe set TX714 .B38 1933
• Betty Crocker picture cooky book TX772 .B47 1948
• Betty Crocker's kitchen gardens SB321 .C25 1971
• Betty Crocker's new dinner for two cook book  TX737 .C6 1964
• Dinner in a dish cook book TX840.O53 C762 1965
• Betty Crocker's Bisquick cookbook TX715 .C92123 1971
• Gold Medal jubilee select recipes, 1880-1955 / a treasury of favorite recipes modernized by Betty Crocker. TX765 .G65 1955
• Betty Crocker's new good and easy cookbook  TX715 .C9217 1962
• Let the stars show you how to take a trick a day with Bisquick / as told to Betty Crocker by screen stars, society stars, home stars and star homemaking editors. TX715 .L648
• Your share : how to prepare appetizing, healthful meals with foods available today TX715 .C922 1943
• Fast summer suppers TX652 .C77 1992
• Cooking calendar TX728 .C88 1962
• Betty Crocker's softasilk special occasion cakes TX771 .B47 1957

Manuscript Collections

• Culinary Pamphlet Collection, Ms2011-002 - Box-Folder 4 folder: 10

Books and Publications

• Washburn-Crosby Co.'s new gold medal cookbook. TX715 .W35 1904
• Gold Medal Flour cookbook. TX739 .G56 1970
• Washburn-Crosby's Gold Medal cook book. TX715 .W35 1910
• Washburn-Crosby's Gold Medal cook book. TX715 .W35 1917
• Gold Medal jubilee select recipes, 1880-1955 / a treasury of favorite recipes modernized by Betty Crocker. TX765 .G65 1955
• Alpha-Bakery children's cook book TX625.5 .A42 1987

Manuscript Collections

• Culinary Pamphlet Collection, Ms2011-02 - Box-Folder 1 folder: 25
• Culinary Pamphlet Collection, Ms2011-02 - Box-Folder 6 folder: 17
• Bertha R. Wildasin Collection. Ms2011-091

Books and Publications

• For Economy Use Jell-O TX814.5.G4 F67 1920
• Jell-O brand fun and fabulous recipes : from Jell-O gelatins & puddings TX814.5.G4 J4481988
• Joys of Jell-O gelatin dessert TX814.5.G4 J7 1963
• Jack & Mary's Jell-O recipe book. TX814.5.G4 J33 1937
• Try the new Jell-O : you make it without boiling water!TX814.5.G4 T79 1932
• Jell-O, America's most famous dessert. TX814.5.G4 J43 1923
• Hello Jell-O : the dainty dessert TX814.5.G4 H45 1909
• Joys of Jell-O : gelatin dessert. TX814.5.G4 .J7
• They wanted Jell-O TX814.5.G4 T38 1908
• Easy homemade desserts : with Jell-O pudding TX773 .E26 1979
• Jell-O brand kids' cooking fun. TX814.5.G4 J45 1991
• Polly put the kettle on, we'll all make Jell-O : [recipes].  TX799 .P64
• The magic of Jell-O : 100 new and favorite recipes celebrating 100 years of fun with Jell-O.TX814.5.G4 M34 2001
• Today-- what salad-- what dessert? : Jell-O brings dozens of answers--.TX814.5.G4 T63 1928
• The Jell-O pages / from Jell-O gelatins & puddings. TX814.5.G4 J456 1987
• The greater Jell-O recipe book TX814.5.G4 G73 1931
• Amazing magical Jell-O brand desserts.TX773 .A36 1977
• What you can do with Jell-O. TX814.5.G4 W472 1933
• The New joys of Jell-O brand gelatin : recipe book. TX814.5.G4 N49 1974
• Jell-O rhymes : America's most famous dessert TX814.5.G4 J452 1923
• Jell-O ice cream powder : makes ice cream, ices and puddings.  TX814.5.G4 J465 1925
• Thrifty Jell-O recipes to brighten your menus TX814.5.G4 T4 1931
• Jell-O and the Kewpies : America's most famous dessert. TX814.5.G4 J46 1915
• Make someone happy, make someone Jell-O® brand gelatin. TX814.5.G4 M34 1972
• New talks about Jell-O, America's most famous dessert. TX814.5.G4 N495 1918
• Jell-O book of menus TX814.5.G4 J444
• The new joys of Jell-O brand gelatin recipe book TX814.5.G4 N49 1973
• What Mrs. Dewey did with the new Jell-O! : 48 fascinating new recipes. TX814.5.G4 W47 1933
• Now Jell-o tastes twice as good : enjoy these tempting recipes. TX814.5.G4 N68 1934
• This is the Do-it-yourself recipe book... TX715 .T395
• Through the menu with Jello TX814.5.G4 T4 1927
• This is the Do-it-yourself recipe book TX715 .T395 (booklet of various recipe pull outs)

Manuscript Collections

• Ms2011-002 - Box-Folder 4 folder: 3
• Bertha R. Wildasin Collection Ms.2011.091

Books and Publications

• Desserts TX773 .P56 1992
• The Pillsbury busy lady bake-off recipes, from the 17th annual bake-off.  TX765 .P52 1966
• Bake-Off ... cooking & baking contest.  TX761 .B341
• The Pillsbury cookbook  TX715 .P63 1914
• The Complete book of baking TX763 .C626 1993
• Grand national cookbook TX761 .G72
• Cook light, eat right RM222.2 .P54 1994
• 100 prize-winning recipes TX765 .O52 1954
• 100 prize-winning recipes TX765 .O5 1953
• Pillsbury's cook book TX715 .P63 1923
• Best of the bake-off collection TX776 .P48 1959
• Appetizers snacks & sweets TX740 .A68 1991
• The nice 'n easy cook book TX833.5 .N53 1970z
• Four seasons of pie baking TX773 .F67 1988
• Balanced recipes  TX715 .B3 1933
• Butter cookie cookbook TX772 .B87 1940z
• Bake the no-knead way. TX761 B35 1946
• Pillsbury's best 11th Grand National Bake-Off cookbook TX765 .P5 1959
• Pillsbury's vegetable cook book TX801 .P642 1970

Manuscript Collections

• Culinary Pamphlet Collection, Ms2011-002 - Box-Folder 2 folder: 67

Books and Publications

• The flavor of American tradition : corn meal & grits recipes TX809.M2 F53 1967
• The Quaker Oats wholegrain cookbook TX809.O23 Q35 1979
• The flavor of American tradition : corn meal & grits recipes. TX809.M2 F53 1967
• The Quaker Oats wholegrain cookbook TX809.O23 Q35 1979

Manuscript Collections

• Culinary Pamphlet Collection, Ms2011-002 - Box-Folder 6 folder: 16

Books and Publications

• The breakfast calculator TX733 .B74 1993
• Food service cook book and menu planner TX820 .F67 1963
• Baker's idea book TX773 B35
• New party cakes for all occasions TX771 .N48 1933
• The stars of Western cookery present a round-up of wartime recipes TX715.2.W47 S73 1944
• Go with the grain for kids RJ206 .G6 2002

Manuscript Collections

• Culinary Pamphlet Collection, Ms2011-002 Box-Folder 1 folder: 25

Books and Publications

• General Foods cook book TX715 .G346 1937
• General Foods Kitchens frozen foods cookbook TX828 .G464 1961
• General Foods cook book TX715 .G346 1932
• The General Foods Kitchens cookbook TX715 .G346
• General Foods cooking school of the air. TX667 .G46
•  It's dessert time! TX773 .G4
• The school lunch TX361.C5 S3 1928b
• Latest cake secrets TX771 .L3 1934
• All about home baking
• All about home baking TX765 .G3 1964
• A calendar of desserts TX773 .C2457 1940
• Good things to eat from Wellville TX808 .P6 1916
• This is the Do-it-yourself recipe book TX715 .T395 (booklet of various recipe pull outs)
• Time for a party! : a hostess book of baking recipes TX771 .T55 1940
• Baker's chocolate and coconut favoritesTX767.C5 B35 1962
• With the greatest of ease TT985 .W57 1943
• Baker's book of chocolate riches TX767.C5 B25 1983
• The home meal planner : a key to better meals TX652.7 .H66 1956
• Recipes for 50 : for canteen and other group food service TX820 .R43 1942
• 10 steps to perfect baking TX765 .G4 1937
• The Well-dressed dessert TX773 .W44
• What makes jelly "jell"? TX814.5.J35 W43 1951
• Baking powder in action TX409 .B35 1932
• The proof of the pudding TX773 .P7 1975
• Cut-up cake party book TX771 .C85 1973
• The Swans Down cake manual : a handbook of cake making TX771 .S93x 1933
• Casseroles and compliments with Minute rice TX809.R5 C37 1966
• All about home baking TX761 A44 1933
• Favorite recipes for country kitchens TX715 .F24 1945
• Kate Smith's favorite recipes TX765 .K37 1940
• Magical desserts with Whip'n Chill deluxe dessert mix : a magnificent collection of extraordinary desserts.
• Mealtime magic / Minute Tapioca TX715 .M478 1980
• Learn to bake... you'll love it! TX765 .L43 1947
• The Calumet book of oven triumphs! TX765 .C36 1934

Manuscript Collections

• Culinary Pamphlet Collection, Ms2011-002 - Box-Folder 6 folder: 24

Books and Publications

• The Kraft cookbook TX715 .K83 1977
• Kraft heritage of African-American cookingTX715 .K73 1990
• Good food ideas cheese cookbook from Kraft TX759 .K68 1977
• Kraft official U.S. Olympic training table cookbook TX714 .K72 1992
• All Star TV recipes ; treasury of good food ideas from the Kraft kitchens TX715 .K84
• Bright ideas for the holidays from Kraft General Foods TX739 .B7 1989
• The complete cheese cookbook TX759 .K7 1971
• The last word in casserole cooking and serving / Klever Kraft Silver
• Salads from beginning to endive TX740 .S3 1980
• Sealtest cottage cheese & sour cream cookery TX759 .S43 1980
• Cheese and ways to serve it. TX759.5.C48 C4 1931
   

Manuscript Collections

• Culinary Pamphlet Collection, Box-Folder 2 folder: 39

Books and Publications

• Heinz exhibit : 1939 New York World's Fair HD9321.9.H4 H45 1939
• Heinz recipe book : first course suggestions ... menus for every occasion. TX715 .H43
• The Heinz book of quantity recipes and menus TX820 .H45 1940
• The Heinz handbook of nutrition QP141 .H4 1959
• The Heinz book of meat cookery TX749 .H44 1932
• Demonstrators' manual of instructions and demonstration arrangementsHD9321.9.H4 D46 1930z
• Science recommends "time off" for mothers RJ216 .S35 1941
• The story of food preservation TX601 .S97 1943

Manuscript Collections

• Culinary Pamphlet Collection, Box-Folder 6 folder: 18

Books and Publications

• The emperors of chocolate : inside the secret world of Hershey and Mars / Joël Glenn Brenner HD9200.U54 H473 2000
• Hershey's 1934 cookbook TX767.C5 H47 1971
• Hershey's classic recipes TX767.C5 H475 2004
• Hershey's chocolate classics TX767.C5 H39 1988
• A cookery expert's new recipes TX767.C5 K56 
• Hershey's cocoa cookbook TX767.C5 H4 1979

Manuscript Collections

• Culinary Pamphlet Collection, Ms2011-002 - Box-Folder 2 folder: 3

Books and Publications

• Healthful living : an account of the Battle Creek diet system RM217.2 .K4 1908
• Suggested service menus UC723 .S845 1941
• Healthful cookery ; a collection of choice recipes for preparing foods, with special reference to health. TX837 .K45 1908
• "Good eating" for health : 95 delicious recipes, 36 appetizing menus TX837 .G67
• Cooking with Kellogg's new quantity recipes TX820 .C66 1970
• The housewife's almanac : a book for homemakers AY81.H7 H69 1938
• Kellogg's Rice Krispies advertisement TX395 .K455
• A manual of cooking for Boy Scouts TX823 .M36
• Kay Kellogg's creative cookery TX715 .K39 1971