Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An Introductory Note
"Local" can mean something different for everyone. For us, in this particular case, we are using "local" to mean the town of Blacksburg and Montgomery County, Virginia, as well as several nearby counties including: Botetourt, Bland, Craig, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, Pulaski, Roanoke, and Wythe.
Also, check out the "Virginia Tech Food History & Virginia Cooperative Extension" section.
Special Collections Culinary Links
From Knox Gelatine: Desserts, Salads, Candies and Frozen Dishes, c.1936
Suggested Manuscript Collections
Blacksburg Vertical Files (List of Subjects), 1960s-present
This collection of newspaper clippings and ephemera includes information on local business, restaurants, the farmer's market, and festivals.
Bridges & Sanders, New River Nursery Receipt, 1874 (Ms2013-051)
The collections contains a receipt for D. S. Peirce dated September 18, 1874, for the purchase of apples from the New River Nursery in Jackson's Ferry, Wythe County, Va.
Dr. Thomas' Eclectric Oil Trade Card [c.1875-1940?] (Ms2009-064)
Dr. Thomas' Eclectric Oil was first produced by Dr. S.N. Thomas of Phelps, New York in the late 1840s. While the Eclectric Oil was quite popular in the local markets of the time, the popularity of the product significantly increased when Dr. S.N. Thomas sold the formula to Excelsior Botanical Company in the 1880s. Dr. Thomas' Eclectric Oil became both a domestic and international sensation, and advertisements for the "cure-all" medication can easily be located in family health periodicals published in the late 1800s. This particular trade card was distributed by James H.S. Aumann, M.D.–a druggist and chemist in Wytheville, Virginia. This item has also been digitized and is available online: http://digitalsc.lib.vt.edu/HFDMss/Ms2009_064_DrThomas
Hotel Roanoke Menus, c.1942-1993 (Ms1999-009)
June 1942 menu, Hotel Roanoke Congratulates J. Ed Brown...60 Years Service, is signed by J. Ed Brown. Leather bound menu is undated. Assorted menus from reopened Hotel Roanoke, 1993.
Ivanhoe, Virginia, Moonshine Still Glass Plate c.1932 (Ms2009-028)
The materials in the Ivanhoe, Virginia, Moonshine Still Glass Plate Collection include the glass plate and two black and white prints. The plate depicts a working still, c.1932. This item has been digitized and is available online: http://digitalsc.lib.vt.edu/HFDMss/Ms2009_028_Photograph
Litchfield Family Household Ledger, c.1870s-1890s (Ms2013-008)
The collection consists of a handwritten collection of recipes, household accounts, and schoolwork from Litchfield family of Abingdon, Virginia. In addition to recipes for pickles and preserving, cakes, puddings, breads, and meats, there are also directions for home products like furniture polish, and lists of greenhouse plants.
Southwest Virginia Counties Collection, 1783-1878 (Ms2000-092)
The collection includes letters from various members of the Godwin, Young, Trevey, Williams and other families of Botetourt, Rockbridge, and Roanoke Counties establishes the relationship between them. In addition to correspondence, the collection also contains deeds, promissory notes, invoices for goods and services, toll bridge fee receipt, a child's watercolor, 13 pen and ink drawings of weaver's coverlet designs with titles of designs included. The collection also contains five bound leather volumes include accounts and recipes.
Virginia Brewing Company Letter, 1909 (Ms2013-075)
The Virginia Brewing Company letter was written on September 27, 1909 by Louis A. Scholz, President of the company, and Henry Scholz, Secretary and Treasurer of the company requesting support for anti-Prohibition laws in Virginia. This item has been digitized and is available online: http://digitalsc.lib.vt.edu/HFDMss/Ms2013_075
- 15th Year Anniversary Cookbook / Blacksburg Christian School TX715 .B433 1996 Spec Large
- Cookbook, Blacksburg Baptist Church, [recipes compiled by High School Youth Group, Blacksburg Baptist Church] TX715 .C665 1996 Spec Large
- Favorite Recipes from Northside Presbyterian Church TX715 .F374 1999 Spec Large
- Gilbert Linkous Elementary Safety Patrol: Family Favorites Cookbook by the Gilbert Linkous Elementary TX715 .G5524 1999 Spec Large
- Green Star Farm Cookbook: Simple and Delicious Vegetarian Food that We Like to Make and Eat by Lauren Cooper TX837 .C63 1991x Spec Large
- The Greenstar Farm Family Cookbook. Vol. 2, More Recipes from Us-- For You TX837 .G74 2000z Spec Large
- Prices Fork Elementary Cookbook TX715 .P749 1980 Spec Large