Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Food & Drink History Resources @Virginia Tech (and Beyond): Food + Drink (History) Allowed: Collecting, Researching, + Collaborating in the Archives (October 29, 2021)

Special Collections in the University Libraries can help with your food & drink history research, including books, manuscript collections, ephemera & digital items. This LibGuide also includes resources you can find at other institutions.

Introduction

This page includes resources related to "Food + Drink (History) Allowed:  Collecting, Researching, + Collaborating in the Archives," a public talk given on October 29, 2021. The Peacock-Harper Culinary History Friends and the Food Studies program at Virginia Tech co-sponsored this talk by Kira Dietz, Assistant Director, Special Collections and University Archives at Virginia Tech. The archives is home to a scholarly collection of more than 7,500 volumes and 125 manuscript collections related to food and drink history, with an emphasis on several topics/areas. In late 2020, we also took over management of The Food Timeline. This talk will introduce our collecting area and its history, highlight some areas of focus (including food technology + production, culinary education, and cocktail history in America) + favorite items, and share some future directions for our current work + collaborations.

This page includes the video (and a link to the video in an external video player) and the slideshow. The one-page resource sheet referenced in the video and the slides is also available online. 

Presentation Video

You can also view the video directly in a larger window or full screen online: https://video.vt.edu/media/FoodDrinkHistoryAllowed/1_w9hgqb11.

Presentation Slideshow

Assistant Director, Special Collections and University Archives

Profile Photo
Kira Dietz
she/her/hers
Contact:
Special Collections and University Archives
University Libraries (0434)
560 Drillfield Drive
Newman Library, Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA 24061
540-231-3810
Website