Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About the FAQs
While we don't want to make a list of every question we've ever received about the culinary history and history of food and drink materials, there are some recurring questions that we thought we'd share here. The answers aren't always conclusive, but they can give you a sense of what it may be like to work with this collecting area. One important thing to keep in mind, though, is that you can ALWAYS contact Special Collections and University Archives if you need help!
Note: We are currently encouraging, but not requiring appointments, as a continuing COVID-19 precaution.
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm & By Appointment
Special Collections Culinary Links
From Knox Gelatine: Desserts, Salads, Candies and Frozen Dishes, c.1936
- "Can I see the culinary history collection?"
- As we often say in the archives world, "it depends." While the majority of the collection is housed in Special Collections, is not necessarily on the same shelves or in the same spaces. Since we are a closed stacks situation, you can't shelf browse. If you would like to see the history of food and drink materials on the shelves, we encourage you contact us to set up a behind-the-scenes tour. If you are interested in doing research with the collecting area, we suggest you visit our guide to doing research and the "Special Collections and University Archives" tab on this guide to get started searching on your own. You can also contact or visit us for help learning to navigate archival research.
- "What does the collection have?" or "Is the collection just cookbooks?"
- Our collection of history of food and drink materials is NOT just cookbooks (though they make up a significant portion of our holdings). We also have things like guidebooks and manuals, Virginia Cooperative Extension publications, pamphlets and booklets, ephemera (like advertisements, menus, games/puzzles, and postcards), digitized materials, digital surrogates, and a limited number of artifacts.
- "How many different recipes do you have for X [ingredient, food, or recipe]?" Or, alternatively: "I'm interested in all the versions/history of the recipes you have to make X."
- It's important to keep in mind we have over 115 manuscript collections and more than 7,200 books and publications relating to aspects of food history. And that doesn't count other materials we have that can overlap with food history and foodways. Sadly, there's no singular index to all these items, so the question "how many" is almost always a unique one. If you are looking to trace the history of an ingredient, food, recipe, or foodways topic, we can help you identify search strategies and sources, but we can't promise we can find every reference.
- "I'd like to visit from out of town and use the collection. What do I need to do first/in advance?"
- Note: We are currently encouraging, but not requiring appointments, as a continuing COVID-19 precaution.
- Technically, nothing, HOWEVER...
- To make the best use of your time, you might want to do some searching through the library's catalog and of our finding aids. If you identify materials, make a note of them.
- You can contact us in advance (email@example.com or 540-231-6308) and we can have those materials waiting for you. If you're not finding anything, check with us! We can help with search strategies and suggest publications and manuscripts you may want to review during your visit.
- Check the university's Visitors' Information page. Parking on campus does require a visitors pass, available for a fee. Our staff may also be able to offer advice on alternative parking or alternative transportation options.
- "Do I have to come to Special Collections and University Archives to use history of food and drink materials?"
- It depends! The majority of food and drink materials are located in Special Collections and University Archives and our materials do not circulate, so they do need to be used here. However, about 1/3 of the books and publications are housed in the circulating collection of Newman Library. Those items can be requested or taken from the shelves and checked out or requested from off-site storage through the catalog. In addition, Special Collections and University Archives and other units in the library have digitized a variety of resources (check out the "Special Collections" and near the bottom of the "Digital Collections & Exhibits" for links).