It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Food & Drink History Resources @Virginia Tech (and Beyond): Past Presentations about History of Food & Drink Materials
Special Collections in the University Libraries can help with your food & drink history research, including books, manuscript collections, ephemera & digital items. This LibGuide also includes resources you can find at other institutions.
This section of the guide includes public materials from talks, presentations, or other created resources relating to the history of food and drink collecting area at Special Collections and University Archives. Each event has its own sub-page, linked below or accessible by clicking on the arrow next to "Past Presentations about History of Food & Drink Materials" above. Each sub-page is labeled with the title of the talk/presentation/event and the date. They are organized with the most recent items first. The one-page resource sheet referenced in several events from 2021 is available online.
Special Collections Culinary Links
From Knox Gelatine: Desserts, Salads, Candies and Frozen Dishes, c.1936
Join for a panel discussion featuring Assistant Director of Special Collections and University Archives Kira Dietz, our first Food Studies program intern, scholars who have used the Food Timeline, and others, to celebrate Virginia Tech's acquisition of this leading food history website and digital archive and learn more about its future.
This page includes resources related to "Food + Drink (History) Allowed: Collecting, Researching, + Collaborating in the Archives," a public talk given on October 29, 2021. The Peacock-Harper Culinary History Friends and the Food Studies program at Virginia Tech co-sponsored this talk by Kira Dietz, Assistant Director, Special Collections and University Archives at Virginia Tech. The archives is home to a scholarly collection of more than 7,500 volumes and 125 manuscript collections related to food and drink history, with an emphasis on several topics/areas. In late 2020, we also took over management of The Food Timeline. This talk will introduce our collecting area and its history, highlight some areas of focus (including food technology + production, culinary education, and cocktail history in America) + favorite items, and share some future directions for our current work + collaborations. This page includes a video and the slideshow.
This page includes the slideshow for a virtual talk on cocktail history given in August 2020, "Tanked Up and Top-Heavy with an Applejack Gait: A Shotglass of American Cocktail History." Also included is a viewable version of my notes for this talk (please be aware that notes are information, not always complete, do not contain references, and may only represent part of what was presented--feel free to contact me if you have questions).
These are the accompanying slides from a talk and historic cocktail tasking event titled, “Measuring Sidewalks Upside Down: Cocktail History in America (And Special Collections!)," given in November 2017.
This page includes a pdf version of a slideshow used in March 2016 titled, " Cookery, Cures, Cocktails, and Chores: Food History in Special Collections." This slideshow accompanied a talk, so it consists primarily of images from items in our collecting area.