Celebrating Virginia Tech's Sesquicentennial: Resources from the University Libraries: Related LibGuides
The University Libraries has a variety of existing LibGuides with information about the history of the university, containing assistance for where and how to do research on the university's history, or describing digital projects that may be of interest. Below is a list, each with a link and a brief description of the guide.
- Hokies@Home: Documenting COVID-19 at Virginia Techn an effort to document the extraordinary experiences of members of the Hokie Nation during the COVID-19 global pandemic, University Libraries' Special Collections and University Archives is inviting the Virginia Tech community to submit oral histories, audio recordings, written stories, diary and journal entries, photographs, videos, art, and other documentation for inclusion in our digital collections. We're particularly interested in documentation of experiences as they relate to Virginia Tech and how individual and community university experiences were affected by the pandemic.
- Local History and Genealogical Research in the University LibrariesThis guide includes resources available in Special Collections, Newman Library, and online that can aid in local genealogy research.
- QTPOC StoriesAmerican archives are rooted in Western European concepts of information preservation and access. This has resulted in historical archives that overwhelmingly represent the experience of affluent, white, heterosexual, cisgender, and Christian males. Knowing this inherent bias persists within archival practice, Special Collections and University Archives at Virginia Tech is taking intentional steps to gather the stories and history of people of color within the LGBTQ+ community.
- Researching Blacksburg, Virginia, History LibGuideSpecial Collections LibGuide
- Virginia Tech History Resources and University ArchivesThis guide details resources intended to help those doing research on the history of Virginia Tech or using the University Archives.
- VTechWorksThis is a user's guide to the Virginia Tech online repository, VTechWorks.
Contact
Have a suggestion for the LibGuide? Working on a project that relates to campus history or the 150th anniversary of Virginia Tech? Looking for help finding materials or partners on a VT150 project? Have materials you would like to donate to Special Collections and University Archives? The VT150 University Libraries Working Group is available at vt150library-g@vt.edu. Reach out to us and we'll connect you with the correct library staff for your needs!