IACUC, Animal Welfare, Literature Reviews: Recommended
Databases
Librarian Liaison to the IACUC
The "3Rs" for Alternatives
REDUCE: minimize how many animals are used.
REFINE: use techniques/procedures that minimize distress and pain to animals.
REPLACE: substitute animal models with non-animal techniques or lower organisms.
Adapted from: Russel, WMS and RL Burch (1959). The Principles of Humane Experimental Technique. Universities Federation of Animal Welfare: England, 238p.
More info:
National Centre for the Replacement Refinement and Reduction of Animals in Research
Key Databases
While the minimum requirement is to search two databases, there are a number of resources available, selecting the most appropriate can be a daunting task. The databases listed immediately below are some of the primary "go-to" resources when searching for alternatives in scholarly research articles.
- PubMed from NLMIndexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.
- CAB Abstracts from CABICAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.
- PubAgPubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research and includes over 1.2 million citations. 1990s-present.
- AGRICOLA from ProQuest
This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA indexes citations for journal articles, books, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science. This database provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present.
Additional databases
The next set of databases are listed to include other research areas that, depending on the scope of the project, may find more information. Keep in mind this is not a complete list, other databases/resources may need to be identified. Contact me if you would like assistance.
- Biological Abstracts from Clarivate AnalyticsBiological Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from life science journals and meeting reports. 1926-present.
- APA PsycINFO from EBSCOhost
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO indexes citations, abstracts, cited references, and some full text from articles, books, dissertations, and reviews on all aspects of psychology. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources, age group, classification code, methodology, and population group. 1840-present. - Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide from EBSCOhostWildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and technical reports in the natural resources and life sciences disciplines. Full-text materials are available in HTML and PDF formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1900-present.