Research Guides: VTCSOM Library &amp; Learning Commons: Medical Terminology

Use this collection of resources to find the style of learning medical terminology that suits you best. Have a suggestion or a favorite resource you would like us to include? Contact vtcsomlibrary@vt.edu to let us know.

Electronic access to these books is provided by the University Libraries at Virginia Tech. Sign in with your VT PID and password (if prompted).

Black's Medical Dictionary by Harvey Marcovitch
ISBN: 1399412310

Publication Date: 2017

Black's Medical Dictionary is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists. It contains over 5000 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with over 1000 diagrams, drawings and colour illustrations.
Concise Medical Dictionary by Elizabeth Martin (Editor)
ISBN: 0199687811

Publication Date: 2015

Written by a team of medical experts, this market-leading illustrated dictionary contains 12,400 authoritative entries covering all aspects of medical science. The text has been fully revised and updated for this new edition to reflect the very latest in medical knowledge and practice.
Dunmore and Fleischer's Medical Terminology by Cheryl Walker-Esbaugh; Laine H. McCarthy; Rhonda A. Sparks
ISBN: 0803693958

Publication Date: 2023

From the past to the present...master the language of medicine through its history Take a language-origin approach to mastering medical terminology through the root elements of medical terminology--the prefixes, suffixes, and combining forms from Greek and Latin. Tales from ancient Greek and Latin writers, mythical stories of gods and goddesses, excerpts from the writings of ancient physicians, and modern stories of scientists and physicians who struggled to identify and accurately label the phenomena they observed, make them memorable. Exercises and activities make learning easy.
Medical Terminology, Enhanced Edition with Navigate 2 Premier Access by Judi L. Nath
ISBN: 1284322327

Publication Date: 2020

Medical Terminology, Enhanced Second Edition uses a proven "work text" approach that helps students master the information they need to communicate successfully in the health care world.
Medical Terminology for Healthcare Professions by Andrea M. Nelson & Katherine Greene
Publication Date: 2021

Medical Terminology for Healthcare Professions is an Open Educational Resource (OER) that focuses on breaking down, pronouncing, and learning the meaning of medical terms within the context of anatomy and physiology. This resource is targeted for Healthcare Administration, Health Sciences, and Pre-Professional students.
Medical Terminology with Case Studies by Katie Walsh Flanagan
ISBN: 9781003525066

Publication Date: 2023

Medical Terminology With Case Studies: A Navigated Guide to Learning for Health Care Professionals, Third Edition, is a fun, engaging, and easy-to-read resource on medical terminology for allied health students in athletic training, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and more.
Quick Medical Terminology by Genevieve Love Smith; Phyllis E. Davis; Shirley S. Steiner (Editor)
ISBN: 1280345004

Publication Date: 2003

With "Quick Medical Terminology: A Self-Teaching Guide," Fourth Edition, you'll discover the answers to these questions and many more. Using a unique word-building system that begins with a review of Greek and Latin word roots, Shirley Steiner provides the tools necessary for building and sustaining a large working repertoire of medical terms. This new fourth edition helps readers understand the simple logic behind hundreds of seemingly incomprehensible words, featuring new review exercises and up-to-date examples.
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing by Stedman's
ISBN: 1608316920

Publication Date: 2011-04-21

A-to-Z organization, coupled with precision-cut thumb tabs, quickly leads you to a definition 1,000 color images and photographs enhance definitions and aid in comprehension Detailed Anatomical Atlas, included in a special glossy insert with detailed images by Anatomical Chart Company, provides a visual representation of anatomical terms Nearly 65 valuable appendices cover critical areas such as dangerous abbreviations, units of measure, references values, and much more Written pronunciations assist you in spoken communication Eye-catching icons identify terms that have printed images or are combining forms British alternative spellings are provided.
A Thesaurus of Medical Word Roots by Horace Gerald Danner
ISBN: 9780810891555

Publication Date: 2013

Dr. Horace Gerald Danner's A Thesaurus of Medical Word Roots is a compendium of the most-used word roots of the medical and health-care professions. All word roots are listed alphabetically, along with the Greek or Latin words from which they derive, together with the roots' original meanings.

Black's Medical Dictionary by Harvey Marcovitch
Call Number: W 13 B627 2023

ISBN: 1399412310

Publication Date: 2023

Black's Medical Dictionary is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists. It contains over 5000 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with over 1000 diagrams, drawings and colour illustrations. It also provides helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of support professional organisations.
Building a Medical Vocabulary (with Spanish Translations) by Peggy C. Leonard
Call Number: W 18.2 L581b 2022

ISBN: 0323755259

Publication Date: 2022

Both engaging and interactive, Building a Medical Vocabulary, 11th Edition introduces a step-by-step approach to effective communication in the healthcare environment. This text brilliantly intersperses traditional narrative and a variety of learning exercises with a programmed approach that gives you immediate feedback. Ideal for both the classroom setting or for self-study, it provides you with the building blocks to successfully communicate with other members of the healthcare team.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary by Dorland
Call Number: W 13 D7111 2012

ISBN: 9781416062578

Publication Date: 2011-05-02

Understand and correctly use all the latest terminology in today's ever-evolving medical field with the 32nd Edition of the comprehensive, highly respected Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary! Thoroughly updated, this user-friendly reference-trusted for more than a century by healthcare personnel at every professional level-allows you to grasp the meanings of all medical terms in current usage.
The Language of Medicine by Davi-Ellen Chabner
Call Number: W 15 C427L 2011

ISBN: 1437705707

Publication Date: 2011

The Language of Medicine brings medical language to life and helps you develop the understanding to communicate fluently in the healthcare setting. Terms and complex medical processes are accessible and easy to understand at all learning levels with an approach that explains terms in the context of anatomy and physiology, as well as how the body works in health and disease. Organized by body system, this combined text/workbook details additional key areas of health care, such as cancer and psychiatry, and is accompanied by full-color illustrations, exercises, and unique supplemental resources that reinforce your comprehension and help you establish the practical foundation for a successful career in healthcare.
Medical Terminology: an Illustrated Guide by Barbara Jansen Cohen
Call Number: W 15 C678m 2017

ISBN: 1496318889

Publication Date: 2017

Medical Terminology: An Illustrated Guide helps readers develop a fundamental knowledge of the medical terminology necessary for a career in any health care setting. To help students learn both medical terms and how they are used in real-world settings, this reader-friendly book demonstrates how medical terms are built from word parts (Part 1), introduces body structures, diseases, and treatments (Part 2), and covers each body system (Part 3). Accessible content, a logical organization, and reinforcing drills in every chapter combine to help readers master the information they need for success in their future careers.
Stedman's Medical Dictionary by Stedman's Medical Dictionary Staff
Call Number: W 13 S814 2000

ISBN: 0683400088

Publication Date: 2000-03-01

Now in its Twenty-Seventh Edition, this dictionary is the successor to the first American medical dictionary. This latest Deluxe Edition contains over 102,000 terms including 12,000 new terms, and is written and reviewed by a group of internationally renowned physicians, researchers, and academicians that cover 52 medical and health science specialties.
Stedman's Medical Abbreviations, Acronyms and Symbols by Stedman's
Call Number: W 13 S843 2013

ISBN: 1608316998

Publication Date: 2013

Stedman's Medical Abbreviations, Acronyms and Symbols offers quick, easy access to more than 75,000 essential abbreviations, acronyms, and symbols that help you comply with the JCAHO mandate for standardized hospital abbreviations. You'll also find listings for professional titles and degrees, professional associations and organizations, chemotherapy and other drug regimens, and clinical trials.

MedlinePlus Logo

Provided by the National Library of Medicine

Medline Plus Medical Encyclopedia
The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries.
Medline Plus Word Parts and What They Mean
Provides a list of word parts and what they mean so you can see how medical terminology is built from these foundational definitions.
Understanding Medical Words Tutorial
This tutorial teaches you about medical words. You'll learn how parts of medical words are put together. You'll also find quizzes to check what you've learned.

Medical Dictionary of Health Terms
The A to Z library is a collection of articles covering many of the most commonly searched medical conditions. Each article contains a description of the condition; the symptoms; how it is diagnosed, prevented, and treated; the prognosis; and when to seek professional advice.

Mayo Clinic Diseases & Conditions
Easy-to-understand answers about diseases and conditions provided by the Mayo Clinic as part of its free Health Library.