Skip to Main Content

VTCSOM Library & Learning Commons: Medical Databases - Athens Login

Clinical Key

Clinical Key  - is a Carilion Clinic subscription that is not shared with VTCSOM.  To access this content, you must be on a Carilion network or have a MyAthens account. 

Carilion Clinic Medical Databases - Subscriptions shared with VTCSOM

To access these databases, you must use your Carilion Clinic MyAthens Account.  

Cochrane Library (Wiley)- The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, including Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Cochrane Clinical Answers.

DynaMed (EBSCO)- Point of Care: Unlimited access whether at work or home. Free mobile app. EBM clinical summaries: applies a 7-step systematic evidence-based process to all content: rates recommendations for levels of evidence and best practice. Features: Causes and risk factors, complications, H&P, Dx, Rx, Tx, Px, prevention & screening, quality improvement, guidelines, patient education, and links to references. CME.

Medical Letter- Peer-reviewed evaluations of drugs, therapeutics, and treatment guidelines; unbiased reviews of drug classes.

 

Carilion Clinic Databases con't

Psychiatry Online (APA) - The American Psychiatric Association -- access to current and full-text American Psychiatric Association textbooks, guidelines, journals, and DSM-V.

PubMed Linkout-  Links out to Carilion subscriptions -- National Library of Medicine index to biomedical and life sciences publications. Articles, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. For full text access to Carilion subscriptions, sign in to MyAthens and select PubMed Linkout from the list of resources.

Creating an Open Athens Account

In order to access the resources on this page, you will need to create an Open Athens account using your Carilion email address (@carilionclinic.org).  

Students: If you do not yet have your Carilion email address, contact VTCSOM's IT (vtcsom-it@vt.edu) to have one created or sent to you. 

Faculty and Staff: you must have a Carilion email address to register; neither the vt.edu nor the vtc.vt.edu email is valid for registering for an Open Athens account.