Health Databases - VTCSOM Login - VTCSOM Library & Learning Commons

Access to Library Resources

While physically present in the VTCSOM library, you have access to all University Libraries online resources as well as the Virginia Tech Carilion Libraries Consortium's databases listed below. Remote access to the Consortium's medical databases is restricted to current VTCSOM students, faculty, and staff.

Helpful Resources

Health and Medicine subject guides: curated pages dedicated to topics in the Health Sciences (including clerkships)
A-Z Databases: all databases available through VT University Libraries

Medical School Databases

AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill
AccessMedicine provides medical ebooks, examination and procedural videos, patient safety modules, and a diagnosis tool.

The AccessMedicine app is available to users at institutions with a full site license. To activate and for continued access to the app, the user must have an active My Access account and sign in every 90 days through your institution, either on-site or through a VPN Sign up for a My Access account today by logging into your subscription and clicking on your institution name in the upper right hand corner. To download the app, please visit the App Store or Google Play.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy provides videos of real dissected human cadaveric specimens. The specimens have not been embalmed and therefore retain the color, texture and mobility of the living body. The recordings show real life movement and transcripts of the audio can be printed out. Access restricted to VTCSOM anatomy faculty and first-year students.
Boards & Beyond
Boards & Beyond is a learning resource for medical students. Its purpose is to supplement classroom and textbook learning, and to help students prepare for the board exams they will take in medical school. We now provide both Step 1 and Step-2-3-Clinical to assist medical students' journey from these board exams through clinical rotations and on to success in residency. Once an account is set up for one, access is provided to the other resources through the same dashboard. Access restricted to VTCSOM users.
- Students: During orientation, students will create an account that will last for their entire time in the VTCSOM program. Students must login through the Institutional Account to access materials assigned to them or for self-study. Our student guide is available here (contact us at vtcsomlibrary@vt.edu for login credentials and further assistance).
- Faculty: Faculty may also create a student account to access Boards & Beyond through the Institutional Account described above, or use the Faculty portal for access. A resource guide is also available (contact us at vtcsomlibrary@vt.edu for login credentials and further assistance).
Books@Ovid
Ovid provides ebooks on medical topics.
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health with Full Text from EBSCOhost
CINAHL indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals in nursing and allied health. It offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Searchable cited references for some journals are included. Full-text material (in PDF and HTML) includes journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. 1981-present.
Decker Rx Medicine
DeckerRx Medicine offers regularly updated medical content authored by clinicians and subject experts. It covers a range of specialties and includes resources to support clinical decision-making, diagnosis, and treatment. The platform also includes dedicated sections for Family Medicine, Obstetrics & Gynecology, and Surgery, with specialty-specific materials, guidelines, and instructional content. Access is restricted to VTCSOM faculty and students.
First Aid Forward Step 1
First Aid Forward Step 1 is a digital learning platform that brings the trusted First Aid for the USMLE Step 1 content to life with interactive tools and smart features. It offers AI-powered practice questions, performance tracking, and seamless navigation to help medical students efficiently master high-yield concepts and prepare for exam day. Access is restricted to VTCSOM users.

First time users will be requested to create an account using their VT email address. Accounts will require re-verification every 180 days to retain access. Users can register for a Step 2 account that will enable the ability to toggle between products. Be sure to logout of Step 1 before creating a Step 2 account.
First Aid Forward Step 2
First Aid Forward Step 2 is a comprehensive digital resource designed to help medical students excel in clinical knowledge and USMLE Step 2 preparation. It features over 350 updated patient cases, trusted First Aid content, and interactive tools that reinforce diagnosis and management skills for success in rotations, residency, and beyond. Access is restricted to VTCSOM users.

First time users will be requested to create an account using their VT email address. Accounts will require re-verification every 180 days to retain access. Users can also register for a Step 1 account that will enable the ability to toggle between products. Be sure to logout of Step 2 before creating a Step 1 account.
Lexicomp Online
Lexicomp is a collection of content sets and clinical tools that provides users with robust clinical drug information. It can be used for both 'clinical' and 'retail' pharmacy applications.
LWW BRS Series
LWW provides board review textbooks covering the core disciplines of behavioral science, biochemistry, cell biology, embryology, gross anatomy, immunology, microbiology, molecular biology, neuroanatomy, pathology, pharmacology, and physiology. Accompanying self-assessment includes nearly 5,000 multiple-choice review questions and explanations. Access restricted to VTCSOM faculty and students.
LWW Health Library: Clerkship Collection
The Clerkship Collection provides ebooks for clinical rotations, including over 150 cases, broken down by rotation. Covers core rotations of Internal Medicine, OB/GYN, Pediatrics, Surgery, Family Medicine, and Psychiatry.
MEDLINE from Ovid
MEDLINE indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1946-present.
NEJM Catalyst
NEJM Catalyst brings health care executives, clinical leaders, and clinicians together to share innovative ideas and practical applications for enhancing the value of health care delivery. It provides a peer-reviewed journal, live-streamed events, and qualified Insights Council daily publication.
NEJM Journal Watch
Editorially independent, esteemed physician authors and editors write and curate article summaries of the most important clinical research. New content is published bi-weekly and is derived from over 250 medical journals.
PubMed from the National Library of Medicine
Indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.

PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

A mobile version is available.
Scopus
Scopus indexes citations of journal articles, conference papers, and books in the sciences, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches. You can compare authors, institutions, and journals using various metrics. 1800s-present
Thieme MedOne Education
Thieme MedOne Education is an online collection of illustrated, full-color textbooks. The base collection comprises 130 textbooks covering biomedical and health sciences. It also includes USMLE Test-prep material and clinical techniques and cases presented in instructional videos.
TRIP Pro (Turning Research Into Practice)
TRIP Pro allows clinicians to search symptoms and other details to find research- and evidence-based medical articles, images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses, and news. Create a personal profile to save searches, receive monthly email updates for those searches, and set links to full text.
Ulrichsweb: Global Serials Directory
Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. Information about periodicals includes: whether a journal is peer reviewed, scholarly, trade, or popular; in which databases it is indexed; publication dates and title changes; journal and publisher policies for the self-archiving of articles by authors; and links to Journal Citation Reports for impact factors.
UpToDate
UpToDate provides evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support recommendations which clinicians can use to make the right point-of-care decisions. More than 5,100 world-renowned physician authors, editors and peer reviewers use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based reports that are proven to improve patient care and quality.
UpToDate accounts expire every 90 days. The document below contains instructions to register for your mobile account and to reactivate your account if it has expired.
UpToDate Access is available to all Medical Students, Clerkship Directors, and Department Chairs at VTCSOM.

UpToDate Mobile Access
Instructions to register for UpToDate mobile access and to reactivate your account if it has expired.

Web of Science from Clarivate Analytics
The Web of Science (WoS) research platform hosts multiple, specialized databases covering academic literature, conference proceedings, patents, and other scholarly content. At the heart of the platform is the Web of Science Core Collection, a curated set of citation indexes for high-quality, peer-reviewed journals, books, and conference proceedings. Additional databases cover specific subject areas (e.g. biology), formats, or regional publications (e.g. Korean). Users may search across all databases on the platform or select a specific database from the 'Search in' drop-down menu.

VTCSOM Library & Learning Commons

Head, VTCSOM Library

Tools

Access to Library Resources

Helpful Resources

Medical School Databases

LIBRARIES

FOLLOW US

CONTACT