VTCSOM Library & Learning Commons: Remote Access

Important notes 

Ezproxy & Get VText services

Setting up Get VText in Google Scholar

Setting up a VPN

Using LibKey (browser extension)

Interlibrary Loan for Extended & Remote Campus Users

A few important notes about accessing online collections:

• Access to Virginia Tech resources are determined either by being on a recognized IP range, using a VPN account that is recognized as a Virginia Tech access point, or authenticating with PID or username and password through the library's off campus sign in service (ezproxy.lib.vt.edu is in the URL).
  • These databases and resources will have the following icon: 
• Some resources are restricted to persons with a VTCSOM affiliation.
  • These databases and resources will have the following icon: 
  • If you believe you should have access but are not able to get into the resource, please contact us at vtcsomlibrary@vt.edu so we can check our systems for who has been granted permissions. 
• To access online resources remotely or when off campus through the University Libraries, you must be affiliated with Virginia Tech (PID/username & password, 2-Factor) 
  • If you are not affiliated with the university, you are able to access online resources using an onsite computer, such as the public terminal located within the VTCSOM Library (see either our "location" or "visitor information" pages under our "about" tab for directions).
• VTCSOM affiliates also have access to resources provided by Carilion.  These resources do not have an icon but are listed on this page and require a MyAthens login to access.
  • Contact the Carilion Roanoke Memorial Library (library@carilionclinic.org)  for questions about access to these resources.

If you need help, contact us at vtcsomlibrary@vt.edu for assistance.

Ezproxy and Get VText Services

What is Ezproxy?

• Ezproxy is a service the library embeds on all of its webpages to provide seamless access to online resources.  You will see "ezproxy.lib.vt.edu" in the URL to many of our resources. One way to make sure you always have access when you are offsite is to start at any University Libraries website page, such as:
  • https://guides.lib.vt.edu/vtcsom_library
  • https://lib.vt.edu/
• Once you access a resource, you will be asked to confirm you are affiliated with Virginia Tech (sign in with your PID/username, password, and 2-factor authentication) in order to access subscription-based content when off site. 

What is Get VText?

• If the database does not provide immediate full text access to a resource you found, look for the "Get VText" icon.  Click the icon to automatically search the library's holdings to locate a copy:

Setting up Get VText in Google Scholar

• If you are using Google Scholar, set up your "library links" to include Virginia Tech​ and the "Get VText" links will appear on the right hand side, which will grant you access to the library's online collections when you're off campus. Here is a 2 minute video on how to set that up.

Setting up a Virtual Private Network (VPN)

• You can use a Virtual Private Network (VPN) account through the university’s PulseSecure service
  • Information on how to do this at https://onecampus.vt.edu/task/all/installing-pulse-vpn
  • Additional FAQs on how to set up your VPN to work with our vendors is available at:https://ask.lib.vt.edu/faq/272024 

Using Libkey (browser extension)

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that assists with access to library resources. It's our replacement for LibX. The Chrome and Firefox browser extension

• provides one-click access to articles from both journal publishers and aggregators like EBSCO and ProQuest
• uses Unpaywall and other sources to open access articles
• links to ILLiad to request articles not available through our subscriptions via interlibrary loan
• uses the university's standard authentication method so no credentials are cached in your browser like some third-party tools do

Simply install the extension. During the installation process, you'll be asked to identify your library; simply search for Virginia Tech.

How to use LibKey Nomad

Publisher pages

If you use Google or Google Scholar (that has not been configured to show Get VText links) , you can be directed to publisher's pages for articles, but since you did not go through the library's links for theses services, you haven't been authenticated and you'll be asked to pay to access the article. With LibKey Nomad installed, you'll see a popup that will authenticate you to allow access.

PubMed

On PubMed search result pages, you'll see links to articles and PDFs, plus links to view all the articles in a journal issue through BrowZine.

This 2 minute video will help you get your LibKey Nomad browser extension up and running.

Interlibrary Loan Services for Extended/Remote Users

For any materials that you need that are not available at the  VTCSOM Library, you can use Interlibrary Loan to request materials be sent to you from the Blacksburg campus, or requested through another library.

Use your PID/password to log into the system; first-time users will be presented with a screen to create their profile in ILLiad.

Login to your ILLiad account

Desktop Delivery

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request desktop delivery of book chapters and print articles from the University Libraries collections that are housed at the Blacksburg campus. The item will be scanned and sent in an electronic format. 
 

Delivery of Print Materials

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request delivery of books or other materials that are either owned by the University Libraries or that need to be requested from another library to be sent to your location outside of the New River Valley.

For items mailed to the address provided in your ILLiad account and mailed to you as an Extended User, use the US Postal Service prepaid return label located inside each book shipped to you.

Note, any item can be returned by first-class mail to:

University Libraries
Interlibrary Loan
560 Drillfield Dr.
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Please be sure the ILLiad label is affixed to the material so it can be clearly identified as an Interlibrary Loan item.

USPS Prepaid Return Label

Additionally, please return any bookstraps affixed to the item; missing straps will be assessed a $5.00 fee to the patron's library account.
 

Status of Requests

You can check on the status of your request through your ILLiad account by selecting "Requests being Processed"  and ensure that your mailing address information is correct under "Change account information."