Skip to Main Content

VTCSOM Library & Learning Commons: Home

The VTCSOM Library provides space, collections, and services to support the
VTCSOM's research, education, and outreach mission.  

VTC School of Medicine Library

Finding Information

List of Health & Medicine Databases - VTCSOM (VT PID) Login

  • The resources provided on this page are accessible using your Virginia Tech PID, password, and 2-Factor Authentication.  Some resources are available only to members of the VTCSOM and not all of Virginia Tech. If you are affiliated with VTCSOM yet are not able to access one of these resources, or you are having difficulty accessing any of the other resources on this page, please email us at vtcsomlibrary@vt.edu so we can assist you. 

List of Health & Medicine Databases - MyAthens (Carilion) Login

  • The resources provided on this page are accessible using your Carilion email by logging in with your MyAthens account.  These resources are provided by Carilion and are restricted to those who have a Carilion email address. If you are not able to connect to these resources using your MyAthens account, please email us at vtcsomlibrary@vt.edu so we can assist you. 
     

Other Databases Available to Search

  • Search for the name of a specific database or broad subject area you wish to search in the link above.
    • The terms you enter in the search on this page will retrieve results if they are found in the title and descriptions of the database, not within the content of the database itself.
    • Most of the content found within the databases is restricted to Virginia Tech or VTCSOM affiliates.
  • Or check out our list of Health & Biomedical Subject & Resource Guides

    ​​​​​​​

Journal Search

  • If you are looking for a specific journal, this is the quickest way to determine what the library has access to (both in print and online). 
    • This search cannot interpret journal title abbreviations. ​Use the "starts with" in the dropdown (default) to search for journal titles that have abbreviations, such as:
      • Journal of the american veterinary association for JAVMA
      • Veterinary rec for Vet Rec 
      • Journal of Feline for J Fel Med Surg 
    • If you have the full citation, you can use the "full text finder" option. 
      • See below for additional information on how to access materials in print and electronic format.
  • Search BrowZine Web directly for a journal title to browse table of contents and locate items of interest. 
    • Find more information on BrowZine here  (includes information on using the an app as well as through a web browser).
       

Discovery Search

  • Discovery Search includes records for most of the library’s resources: our physical collections, our journal and ebook subscriptions, streaming videos, reports, government publications, and much more. You can use limiters to narrow your search results by the format, date of publication, peer-reviewed, and availability online.  
  • More tips are available on how to use our Discovery search at https://guides.lib.vt.edu/discoverysearch


Library Catalog

  • The library's catalog contains the records and holdings for the library's print materials, and is the system you will need to use to request materials to be sent from storage, Newman, or other branches (this excludes materials from the EMC). More information below and under "Delivery of Materials" on our Services page.
  • Check your Library Account to see what you have currently checked out, renew items, verify due dates, and note any fines listed. 
     

Course Reserves

  • Use the above link to search for materials listed on course reserve, particular to see what books are provided in each of the PBL rooms. 

Popular Reading Collection

Stop by and check out our new Popular Reading Collection titles from Newman Library!

VTCSOM Library
Staffed Hours*
Monday 8:00 - 5:00
Tuesday 8:00 - 5:00
Wednesday 8:00-  5:00
Thursday 8:00 - 5:00
Friday 8:00 - 5:00
Saturday Unstaffed
Sunday Unstaffed
 

*due to limited staffing, if you require assistance, we highly recommend scheduling an appointment at least 1 business day in advance to ensure someone is available to assist you.

Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine (VTCSOM) faculty, staff, and students have 24/7 keycard access to the VTCSOM Library.  

All other library users are able to access the VTCSOM Library Mon-Fri from 8am-5pm, except for university closures. Please see our Visitor Information page for additional details. 

Please contact vtcsomlibrary@vt.edu for any questions on library access

Director, Health Sciences Libraries

Profile Photo
Kiri DeBose
Contact:
Vet Med Library
245 Duck Pond Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061
540-231-0495