Civil and Environmental Engineering

The GeoRef database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.

To maintain the database, GeoRef editor/indexers regularly scan more than 3,500 journals in 40 languages as well as new books, maps, and reports. They record the bibliographic data for each document and assign index terms to describe it. Each month between 4,000 and 7,000 new references are added to the database.

ProQuest Deep Indexing: Earth Sciences supplements GeoRef with access to deep indexing for tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature for selected records. Records from the database appear with searches of GeoRef to provide an additional path for discovery.

Records in TRID are indexed with a standardized vocabulary from the Transportation Research Thesaurus (TRT) or the ITRD Thesaurus, depending on the source organization.

The TRID Database contains more than 900,000 records of references to books, technical reports, conference proceedings, and journal articles in the field of transportation research. Almost 500 serial titles are regularly scanned and indexed for TRID. TRID's focus is transportation research. TRID does not contain information on vehicle standards and specifications, patent information, market research, or military transport.

In addition to the material that is indexed and abstracted at the Transportation Research Board and from ITRD, TRID receives records from several sources:
TLIB

TLIB Records are bibliographic records received from major transportation libraries. These citations generally do not have abstracts but they cover journals and publications that would not otherwise be covered in TRID. The Harmer E. Davis Library at the Institute of Transportation Studies at the University of California, Berkeley provides monthly updates of journal articles and technical reports. The Northwestern University Transportation Library provides monthly contributions of selections from its TRANWeb database (a database of journal articles and papers on transportation and law enforcement).
EIS

Almost 20,000 Environmental Impact Statements from the EIS Database produced by the Northwestern University Transportation Library have been added to the TRIS Database to date. TRID now contains records for the largest collection of Environmental Impact Statements in the world.
Theses

Since 2007, the Northwestern University Transportation Library has contributed transportation-related theses to the TRID database. To date approximate 3,000 records have been contributed. The Northwestern University Transportation Library adds new thesis records to TRID annually.

The analysis and study of engineering failures is an essential part of many engineering curricula today. This focus enables modern engineers and scholars to learn what not to do and how to create designs with a greater chance of success. Yet the tools to teach these classes are often inconsistent, with much of the material scattered across numerous resources. Once located, information can be subjective and incomplete.
The engineering field needs a comprehensive resource to provide in-depth, impartial analysis of key engineering failures. Engineering Case Studies Online is an online collection that offers 250 hours of video and 50,000 pages of text resources to meet this growing need. It provides in-depth coverage for 50 of the most frequently taught and seminal case studies around the world together with supplementary materials from more than 1,000 additional failures.

Direct access to courses:

• Fundamentals of Autonomous Vehicle Technology


• Introduction to Blockghain Technology


• Ethical Hacking: System Hacking
• Ethical Hacking: Evasion Techniques


• Ethical Hacking: Enumeration


• Network Sniffing


• Web Server & Web Application Security
• System Fundamentals for Cyber Security


• Ethical Hacking: Malware Fundamentals


• Social Engineering for Cyber Security


• Introduction to Penetration Testing


• Data Security in the Cloud

Our subscription includes:
Adhesives, Coatings, Sealants & Inks
Aerospace & Radar Technology
ASM International Alloy Information
ASM International Handbooks Online
Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology
Ceramics & Ceramic Engineering
Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Civil Engineering & Construction Materials
Composites
Computer Hardware Engineering
Earth Sciences
Electrical & Power Engineering
Electronics & Semiconductors
Engineering Management & Leadership
Environment & Environmental Engineering
Fire Protection Engineering & Emergency Response
Food Science
General Engineering & Project Administration
Industrial Engineering & Operations Management
Manufacturing Engineering
Marine Engineering & Naval Architecture
Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering
Metals & Metallurgy
Mining Engineering & Extractive Metallurgy
Nanotechnology
Nondestructive Testing & Evaluation
Oil & Gas Engineering
Optics & Photonics
Pharmaceuticals, Cosmetics & Toiletries
Plastics & Rubber
Process Design, Control & Automation
Regulatory Information
Safety & Industrial Hygiene
Software Engineering
Sustainable Energy & Development
Textiles
Transportation Engineering
Welding Engineering & Materials Joining

MathWorld has been assembled over more than a decade by Eric W. Weisstein with assistance from thousands of contributors. Since its contents first appeared online in 1995, MathWorld has emerged as a nexus of mathematical information in both the mathematics and educational communities. It not only reaches millions of readers from all continents of the globe, but also serves as a clearinghouse for new mathematical discoveries that are routinely contributed by researchers. Its entries are extensively referenced in journals and books spanning all educational levels, including those read by researchers, elementary school students and teachers, engineers, and hobbyists.

MathWorld continues to grow and evolve with the assistance of thousands of contributors. Careful oversight of all aspects of its content and interface by creator Eric Weisstein, and more recently with able assistance from MathWorld associate Ed Pegg, Jr., provides an exacting level of quality, accuracy, and consistency. As a result, MathWorld is considered not only the clearest and most readable online resource for mathematics, but also one of the most reliable.

MathWorld is actively developed and maintained. The site is updated daily, thus achieving extremely rapid communication of new and extended results--many of which are provided by outside contributors--while at the same time maintaining a degree of editorial oversight and consistency across (and among) the site's nearly 13,000 entries that is simply not possible for other sites.

MathWorld currently features a number of innovative interactive elements that enhance its usability for a variety of different readers. These features include:

The MathWorld Classroom, which provides a set of pop-up "capsule summaries" for more than 300 mathematical terms.
Extensive citations to books and journal articles, many of which are active hyperlinks (but no Get VText links or cues).
Thousands of downloadable Mathematica notebooks.
Several types of interactive entries, including LiveGraphics3D applets for interactive three-dimensional geometry.
A powerful full-text search engine with both basic and advanced searching capabilities.
Dublin Core and Mathematics Subject Classification metadata in the HTML headers of each page.
Special information for Mathematica users.

The technology behind MathWorld is heavily based on Mathematica. In addition to being indispensable in the derivation, validation, and visualization of MathWorld's content, Mathematica is used to build the website itself, taking advantage of its advanced mathematical typesetting and data-processing capabilities.

Factiva provides full-text news articles and business information. From the Search tab, use the Free Text search box to explore an archive of over 50 years of news and other sources.

From the News Pages tab, you can browse current issues of major newspapers and business magazines from around the world.

From the Companies/Markets tab, you can research competitors, suppliers, customers, and partners through market data, interactive charts, financial statements, and more for individual companies or industries. Data includes current and historical pricing on a variety of financial instruments like stocks, funds, currencies, and market indexes.

IBISWorld provides a comprehensive collection of industry market research reports. Industry Research Reports are powerful business tools that provide strategic insight and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries. Each industry report is written at the 5-digit NAICS level - an unparalleled degree of detail. The reports are updated frequently, which gives you the confidence to make accurate and speedy business decisions.
Each report includes 9 chapters, and 34 sub-chapters that provide insight into current and forecast industry performance, changing trends, operating conditions and supply chain linkages.

Every industry faces a set of variables outside its control that have a material effect on industry performance. These factors, which include exchange rates, commodity prices, consumer attitudes, weather conditions, government policies among others are covered by our extensive range of business environment reports. Understanding these factors makes it easier to predict trends for your business and competitors.

So, what are the key factors outside the control of your organisation that determine the performance of your industry? Find out in our brief summaries within our industry research reports, or use our business environment reports as a supplement to acquire a deeper understanding of these trends. Our two-to-three-page business environment reports provide insights into all the demographic, environmental and business trends that you can’t afford to ignore.