Ocean Engineering: Ocean Engineering Resources

Ocean Engineering at Virginia Tech

Virginia Tech's Ocean Engineering program's major focus areas are ocean vehicles and structures including ships, advanced marine vehicles, offshore platforms, and submarines.

Tools for finding ocean engineering articles, papers, and technical reports

Engineering Village
Engineering Village is the search interface to three engineering databases: Compendex, Inspec, and Knovel. Compendex (1884-present) indexes citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conference papers, books, patents, dissertations, and technical reports. Inspec (1898-present) indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in engineering and physical sciences. Knovel provides ebooks on engineering and related subjects.
SciTech Premium Collection from ProQuest
The SciTech Collections indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, books, conference papers, trade publications and more. Some full text provided in HTML and PDF.
Scopus
Scopus indexes citations of journal articles, conference papers, and books in the sciences, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches. You can compare authors, institutions, and journals using various metrics. 1800s-present
Web of Science from Clarivate Analytics
The three Web of Science databases index citations from journal articles and conference proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. You can perform cited reference searches, analyze trends and patterns, and create visual representations of citation relationships. 1900-present
Dimensions Plus
Dimensions Plus indexes more than 100 million publications, ranging from articles published in scholarly journals, books and book chapters, to preprints and conference proceedings. Dimensions Plus is an extensive and fully interlinked database with publications, grants, patents, clinical trials, datasets and policy documents. 1600s to present.
National Map from the USGS
The National Map includes orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover. Other types of geographic information can be added within the viewer or brought in with The National Map data into a Geographic Information System to create specific types of maps or map views. The US Topo Maps module provides electronic access to topological maps previously received in print.
As one of the cornerstones of the U.S. Geological Survey's (USGS) National Geospatial Program, The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other federal, state, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the nation. It has many uses ranging from recreation to scientific analysis to emergency response. The National Map is easily accessible for display on the Web, as products and services, and as downloadable data. The geographic information available from The National Map includes orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover. Other types of geographic information can be added within the viewer or brought in with The National Map data into a Geographic Information System to create specific types of maps or map views. The National Map is a significant contribution to the National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI) and currently is being transformed to better serve the geospatial community by providing high quality, integrated geospatial data and improved products and services including new generation digital topographic maps.

In addition to being an important contribution to the NSDI, The National Map is foundational to implementation of the Department of the Interior (DOI) Geospatial Modernization Blueprint and meeting the DOI mission to protect America's treasures for future generations, provide access to our nation's natural and cultural heritage, offer recreation opportunities, honor our trust responsibilities, conduct scientific research, provide wise stewardship of energy and mineral resources, foster sound use of land and water resources, and conserve and protect fish and wildlife. The National Map also underpins the USGS Science Strategy which is based on a systems approach to help address multi-faceted issues, provide better understanding of earth processes and evaluate broad causes and consequences of the use and management of natural resources.
National Climatic Data Center
The National Climatic Data Center provides data sets on climate and weather, plus full-text publications in PDF that summarize this data. Free access to some data sets requires connecting from a campus computer or through Off Campus Sign In.
Online access is free for .gov, .edu, .mil, .k12, .us and other selected domains and many products listed here are free for all users. See the Free Access section of the NCDC Help page for detailed information.
Period of record shown indicates period of data available online. The period of record for the complete data set may vary and is dependent on the desired location. Data prior to the period of record indicated may be available. The NCDC archives contain data as far back as the 1800s for certain data typesand locations. Contact the NCDC for availability, pricing and ordering information.
Any data product ordered from NCDC may be certified for court, but only the more commonly certified products can be certified for court online. For ordering certified copies of items where certifications are not offered online, please contact the NCDC. For more information, please see the note on certifications on our NCDC Ordering page.
Online means available through our web site for electronic delivery, although some items ordered online may require online delivery by mail and those are subject to a service charge. Some orders could be subject to a consultation fee or handling charge.
Offline means the data type is not available through our web site. Contact the NCDC for availability, pricing and ordering information. Many items cost more when ordered offline.
Some products require Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Tools for obtaining an overview of ocean engineering topics

Knovel Library
Knovel provides a large collection of ebooks on engineering and related subjects. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. The entire collection is full-text searchable, and many results include interactive tables. Includes tables of properties for over 13,000 chemical compounds. Knovel is also searchable through the Engineering Village interface.
Our subscription includes:
Adhesives, Coatings, Sealants & Inks
Aerospace & Radar Technology
ASM International Alloy Information
ASM International Handbooks Online
Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology
Ceramics & Ceramic Engineering
Chemistry & Chemical Engineering
Civil Engineering & Construction Materials
Composites
Computer Hardware Engineering
Earth Sciences
Electrical & Power Engineering
Electronics & Semiconductors
Engineering Management & Leadership
Environment & Environmental Engineering
Fire Protection Engineering & Emergency Response
Food Science
General Engineering & Project Administration
Industrial Engineering & Operations Management
Manufacturing Engineering
Marine Engineering & Naval Architecture
Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering
Metals & Metallurgy
Mining Engineering & Extractive Metallurgy
Nanotechnology
Nondestructive Testing & Evaluation
Oil & Gas Engineering
Optics & Photonics
Pharmaceuticals, Cosmetics & Toiletries
Plastics & Rubber
Process Design, Control & Automation
Regulatory Information
Safety & Industrial Hygiene
Software Engineering
Sustainable Energy & Development
Textiles
Transportation Engineering
Welding Engineering & Materials Joining
AccessEngineering from McGraw-Hill
AccessEngineering provides engineering handbooks and textbooks, plus instructional videos.
ASM Handbooks Online
ASM Handbooks Online features the complete content of all ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions (the Engineered Materials Handbook and the Metals Handbook). The ASM Handbook Online contains peer-reviewed, trusted information in every area of materials engineering and is the industry's best known and most comprehensive source of information on metals and materials technology.
O’Reilly Safari Learning Platform: Academic Edition
- This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly Safari Learning Platform: Academic Edition provides over 38,000 full-text ebooks (HTML) and 30,000 hours of videos in computer science, information technology, and business. You must use your vt.edu email address to access ebooks. Please remember to log out when you're done so others may use the ebooks; use is limited by number of users.
You can also download ebooks through the O'Reilly mobile app. Download the app called "O'Reilly" from Play Store for Android or Apple Store for iOS. In order to use the app, you must create an account using your vt.edu email address; then you can login to O'Reilly using your personal account.

Engineering Librarian

Sarah Over

she/her/Dr.

Email Me

Contact:

Newman Library
Rm 3013
560 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061

540-231-8693

Subjects: Engineering and physical sciences

Live Chat

Interlibrary Loan Services

All current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff, regardless of your location, may request through ILLiad for materials:

not owned by Virginia Tech (books, articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)
owned by Virginia Tech but are unavailable for use (print books)
owned by Virginia Tech and available in print (scans of articles from journals and conference proceedings, book chapters, standards, and technical papers)

We ship requests via UPS to users outside the immediate Blacksburg area (Montgomery, Giles and Pulaski counties).

Articles, book chapters, and many technical papers are delivered in PDF format to your ILLiad account. Occasionally, due to copyright restrictions, a paper copy of an article or standard is held for your at the Newman User Services Desk or sent o the mailing address listed on your account.