Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Special Collections and University Archives
Photograph Collections/Collections with Photographs
Earl Palmer Appalachian Photograph and Artifact Collection, 1880-1989 (Ms1989-025)
This collection contains the photographs of Earl Palmer, an award-winning photographer from Cambria, Virginia, whose work depicted the landscape and traditional culture of rural Appalachia in Kentucky, North Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia. The collection is divided among the following series: Photographs, Duplicate Photographs, Written Materials, and Oversize Photographs.
Historical Photograph Collection (List of Subjects), 1890s-present
The photograph collection at Special Collections consists primarily of historical photographs of Virginia Tech, dating back to the 1890s. The collection is also home to historic images of Blacksburg, Montgomery County, the New River Valley, and Southwest Virginia in general. A photograph collection of faculty and staff from the university is maintained separately.
Named/Individual Photograph Collections, 1890s-present
The Named/Individual Photograph Collection include images from alumni and former faculty and staff, or individuals with ties to campus and the New River Valley. Collections (c.1890-present) depict campus life and events, railroad history, agricultural extension research, Blacksburg and surrounding areas, and some local families.
Digital Photographs from Special Collections and University Archives
Video Materials in Special Collections and University Archives
Film Footage of the State of Virginia, 1980s-2003 (Ms2010-024)
This collection contains 35 Betacam tapes (also available on 9 DVDs) of raw video footage featuring locations throughout Virginia, including Williamsburg, Richmond, Lake Prince, and Alexandria.
Sugar cane, sorghum, and stir-offs: stir-off a mountain tradition
This video is also available online in a streaming format: http://www.cornettmedia.com/documentaries.html.
Video presents the history of sorghum and cane molasses stir-offs, particularly in the Appalachian regions. Documents a molasses stir-off in Kentucky in 2012, from the cutting of the sorghum stalks to the boiling down of the juice into "sorghum molasses."